Taking a Break for Only a Little Bit…

Posted on Updated on

Here’s the honest to God truth: When I get home at night, I am beyond tired and the last possible thing I’m wanting to do is stare at another computer screen for around 2-3 hours, which is typically the amount of time it takes me to write a blog posting with graphics and all. Either I’m incredibly slow, or just want to take my time and make sure I’m saying what I want to say (although sometimes, that’s not the case either…I tend to blather on and on and on.)

Another hard truth? I’m leaving for home tomorrow for Christmas. I’ll be gone, away from all reasonable internet access for 7-8 days, which means I won’t have the means in which to write on here anyways. Sure, I can open a new word document and type away as if I were typing on here, but that would defeat the purpose. So, the reasonable solution? To take a break….ride out the rest of 2012, and start with a renewed energy in 2013.

Which is what I plan to do.

Even as I type to you now, I’m feeling sick and sleepy and as if my eyeballs will roll back into their sockets any time. I’m just not firing on all cylinders on this fine day of the impending world-ending  apocalypse. I feel like death right now, and still have my 2nd job to work tonight. C’est la vie. They always said the wicked never get to sleep. Once work is adjourned, I’ll head home, pack my duffel with a week’s worth of sock, jeans, and sweaters. Hit the sleeping pillows, and awake with all intentions of loading up the car, getting some remarkably cheap-as-of-late (and hopefully it continues to be that way!) gas, and I’m on the road for 3 hours singing my heart out to Josh Groban and Mercy Me.

I really love the holidays.

I just hope I’m not feeling like this or I’m going to fall asleep behind the wheel, and I’m most certainly NOT missing Christmas. I love it all. I can’t wait for lasagna and Moscato on Christmas Eve. I can’t wait for stockings on Christmas morning (yes, I may be considered to be too old for this but I really don’t care. I’m always going to be a kid at heart!) I can’t wait for cheesy vegetable hot dish for Christmas dinner. I can’t wait for slushes Christmas night when we usually get cozy on the couch and watch a new movie. I miss family, and cannot wait to see them.

If the time since I graduated from the Academy has proven anything to me, it’s that I’m a family girl. Those I consider family always come first, and I can’t stand to be away from them for too long. A part of me physically hurts when I haven’t seen or spoken to someone in too long of a time. Don’t even talk about saying good-bye to them. Choked up throat, pig penguin tears….just a hot, hot mess.

Writing, planning, and reading are the big goals for this short, but truthfully needed, holiday break. One thing I’ll be planning? How to bring this blog back to its original intention. More so, how to bring its original intent back to the forefront. It’s about a Modern Jedi in a Modern World. This was not meant to be a release for my bitching and all that is non-Jedi. Granted, the two do intersect sometimes, but there were too many instances of bitching for bitching’s sake.

So, planning. How I’m going to go about do that. That’s what this week is all about. And eating. Lots and lots of eating.

Be safe out there, and be very merry this Christmas season. Enjoy your family and friends, and never forget to be thankful for all the good things going for you this holiday season. There are more than you think.  Merry Christmas, and we’ll see you in the New Year of 2013!

As always…May the Force be with you.

One thought on “Taking a Break for Only a Little Bit…

    Megan-Marie said:
    November 29, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    How awkward is this? I found your blog some time ago while searching for ideas for Star Wars parties. I enjoyed reading it so much, and agreed with so much, that I started following your blog, and I’ve been a little disappointed the hiatus has continued so long. Blogs I like always seem to fade when I discover them.

    Anyway, I still nominated you for a Liebster on my blog, Star Wars Librarian, and if you’re interested, you can read this post for how to accept it: http://swlibrarian.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/awarding-good-behavior/

Leave a Reply

