Ode to my Other Half

Posted on

Ode to he who will become my future mate, my other half, the Han to my Solo. This is for him (whomever HE may be):

The only pair of coffee mugs I will ever need.

Let’s get something straight right off the bat. I’m not perfect. Neither are you. So now that we have that cleared from the air, you need to understand just how awesome I am and how awesome I’m going to treat you because of who you are.

Who are you, you might ask? You are my other self. You are me possibly in male form. You are what romantics call my soul mate. Was it love at first sight? I surely hope so, but at this point in time, until I have the ring on my finger and I’m telling some handsome devil ‘I do,’ I don’t know who “you” are exactly yet.

One day I will scream this from rooftops.

Still…I know how wonderfully I’m going to treat you.

I’m assuming he’s going to love books as much as I do.

Pizza, beer and football? You got it. The occasional surprise shower buddy? I’m all over it. Letting you have your guys night? Me and my girls have a few place to head ourselves.

Every Sunday will be a feast to behold.

Tell me your favorite meal. I’ll cook it at least once a month, just the way you like it. Every time I go shopping, I always keep a sharp eye for that certain color that brings out the color in your eyes that I love so much, and when I find the perfectly colored shirt, you better know I’m going to bring home to you. I want my honey looking good!

Don’t be surprised if I wear it more often than you do.

As can be expected, if I’m treating you this wonderfully all the time, the favor is expected to be returned.

Breakfast in bed is always a winner.

Another thing to clear from the air? I have high standards. Having high standards can sometimes mean I’m pushy, slightly hysterical, and nit-picky about the tiniest of details. If you don’t notice my hair cut, new dress, or kiss me every once in a while just because, I’m going to notice and probably get a touch upset over it.

I may cry. I might yell. I might swear up and down I’m going to end everything between the moment you step out that door. It’s possible I might call you 95 times in order to  make sure everything is okay between us after a major fight.

We got into a fight, and now…I just don’t know…

However, I will never go to bed angry at you. Even if I am angry at you when I roll over to close my eyes, I’ll still kiss you good night and tell you how much I love you. I’ll still pour you juice in the morning, and pick up a copy of your favorite magazine when I know you have nothing planned for you Sunday afternoon.

“That’s what I love you for: your inability to perceive all my hideous flaws.”

I couldn’t sum it up any better than Audrey Niffenegger, novelist, in The Time Traveler’s Wife, already has.

Have you read The Time Traveler’s Wife? Stop reading this and go to Barnes and Noble right now!

The point is, I will love you through everything. I can only hope and pray that you’ll love me through it all too; the serious and the silly. The Star Wars marathons, the endless nights where I struggle to figure out the next plot point my one of my many novel plots, the menstrual cycle induced ice cream binges. Real down and dirty fights, the ups and downs of trying to get pregnant, temptation from others (let’s face it, we’re both going to be amazingly good-looking), losing the baby weight, keeping our love life spicy, and  growing old together without breaking a hip.

Through it all, baby.

I want it all.  As Noah said in The Notebook, “Well that’s what we do, we fight… You tell me when I am being an arrogant son of a bitch and I tell you when you are a pain in the ass. Which you are, 99% of the time. I’m not afraid to hurt your feelings. You have like a 2 second rebound rate, then you’re back doing the next pain-in-the-ass thing.

Cuz there will be plenty of moments like this, too.

I imagine that’s exactly how we’ll be, and I don’t want it any other way.

And ones like this… 😉

Ode to my future mate, my husband, my lover, my best friend: I will love you to the ends of the earth and back.

— Fin—

Leave a Reply

