The Wedding of the Year

Posted on Updated on

A week ago, I was waking up blurry eyed, legs hurting, and blissfully happy because I’d left it all on the dance floor in celebration of my sister and her new husbands’ wedding. A week ago, I had the time of my life. A week ago seems so very long ago.

Forever and ever

The post-wedding blues have certainly settled down on my shoulders since last weekend. When you’re looking forward to something like a wedding for about 10 months worth of time, it all comes to a head in 2 days’ worth of time, and just like that its over. It’d leave you depressed, too.

Another dress goes into the closet. Le Sigh…

“Powerlessness corrupts: absolute powerlessness corrupts absolutely.”

Rosabeth Moss Kanter, a business-trend tracker, knows how I’m feeling about this wedding being over. I am powerless in making it happen all over again. The annoying part out of all of this? The unending stream of questions concerning when I’m going to be hitched. How about ‘not anytime soon’ for an answer?

Here’s a solution: Get some power behind that punch!

But instead of wallowing in misery and self-pity (which I allowed myself to do the other day), it’s time to look back and remember the awesome times that were had merely a week ago. The newlyweds came back from their honeymoon last night, so it’s once again a bustling house. I am no longer the sole tenant, but I walk around with a little apprehension when I see their cars in the driveway, but don’t her a sound when I walk through the door. I may have to invest in ear plus for instant insertion as soon as I walk through the front door. As a precaution, people. I know when I get married, those first few weeks are going to be absolutely crazy…in the bedroom. HA! Too much? 🙂

By remembering, we relive. By reliving,  we remind oneself about all the good times. By reminding ourselves about the good times, I can happily avoid the post-wedding depression constantly knocking on my emotional gate. Plus, Thanksgiving is just around the corner (OMG!), so it’ll be good for the soul to see my family again. And it’s the holidays (almost!)

I’m already starving myself in preparation.

I shan’t lie. I’m very excited for Christmas music to start blaring through my speakers.

In the spirit of remembering the wedding of the year, here are my favorite moments from last weekend:

– Learning the song ‘Marry Me’ by Train from scratch in my sister’s friends hotel room the night prior to the ceremony, and then rocking it in the church the next day.

So pretty and it makes me want to cry. In a good way.

– Slipping on my Katniss Everdeen boots for the infamous Boot Dance around the groom during the wedding dance.

It’s a tradition.

– Towards the end of the night, dancing with one of the honorary ushers and as he tried to dip me in a fancy-manner, ended up dropping me cold in front of everyone on the dance floor. (I still have a bruise on my ankle from this moment!)

He did apologize like 10 times.

– Bustling my sister’s wedding dress and having a few private moments to talk to her in the middle of all the chaos.

Who knew there were so many options for bustling?

– Freezing my toes and arms off in the city park in 30 degree weather for outdoors wedding photos

I really hope they look this cute.

– Rocking my cream and black laced dress at the rehearsal dinner (and having one of the groomsmen say, “Day-um, that’s a good-looking girl!”)

Pretty damn close to the actual dress I wore.

–  Seeing my sister walk down the aisle, and bawling my eyes out

Her train wasn’t nearly this long. Thank God.

– Discovering how to do the Gangnam Style dance in a floor-length bridesmaid dress (and bringing everyone out to the dance floor!)

– Seeing how my parents are still very much in love with each other 39 years later from their wedding day

A huge feat for any couple in this day and age.

– Giving the groom “the talk” about how if he ever hurts my sister in any way, he’s got me to deal with.

– Beginning my Maid of Honor speech with ‘A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…my sister asked me to keep Star Wars references out of my speech…well, I’m breaking the rules.”

It got the crowd laughing that’s for sure.

– Watching my niece and nephews get dolled up in their little mini-man tuxedos and her little fluffy dress

So freaking adorable.

– Talking to the Best Man pretty much all night long (too bad he lives in Arizona.)

We had a few awesome dance moves between us.

– Taking a very large shot of tequila with the same usher that dropped me on the dance floor

Cuz tonight is going to be a good night.

– Hearing the story of how this same usher apologized to my mother for dropping me, and she had no idea what he was talking about

– Jamming to Bohemian Rhapsody with my other brother-in-law while he decked himself out in the longest-nastiest black hair wig I’ve ever seen in my life.

I’m sure Animal was an inspiration. For suuuure!

– Watching the Father-Daughter dance (makes me tear up every single time…especially when I already know the song I want played for my Father-Daughter dance.)

My Pops and I will bust a move at my wedding.

– Being greeted by the entire groomsmen party with a rousing “GOOD MOOOORNING!” at the brunch the morning after the wedding.

They sure know what I liked.

– Dancing like a maniac ALL NIGHT LONG! (and having my legs still  hurt 4 days later.)

Props are a necessity at any and all weddings dances.

Guess what? I’m sure there are at least 100 more I could list, but I’ll spare you from them. I’ll keep them to myself 🙂 My memories, not yours!

I’m going to go finally unpack from last weekend. Sad, isn’t it? My duffel bag is still sitting on my floor 8 days later…I’m a terrible housekeeper. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! I’m rocking the pigtail and robe look 4 hours after getting up.

What’s the point of putting clothes on for the day of relxation? Coffee tastes better this way, anyway.

This is what Sundays were made for.

Shall we just stay in bed? Okay, you’ve convinced me.
Leave a Reply

