Falling Hard on this Couch

Posted on

Noon. That was the time I rose and shined. It’s been a long time since I have slept in that late. To be fair, I did wake up at 6:30 and 7:00 before I actually crawled back under the covers and say ‘Screw You!’ to the early morning fogginess. Seriously, it’s sort of disgusting out…and I told myself I was going to hit up the gym some time today. Well, the day is young.

All comfy in my comforter and I just don’t want to get out to it. Ever.

Yet here I sit in my pajamas eating TGIFridays Potato Skins: Cheddar and Bacon flavored. Two words: Rough Night. In more ways than one. It further proves to me why I’m a terrible person. I really am, but deep inside, I’m okay with that. At least I think I am. That, or I have a burning desire to see how many people will buy be drinks before they decide to throw them in my face. Girlish tendency? Perhaps.

I must try this fun stuff.

“When you jump up the earth wants you back.”

Okay, Jenny Lewis, singer and songwriter. If you say so.

She looks like a sly elven princess in training.

But every once in a while, I wish I could jump up and I could simply float away, find a new landing ground, a new landscape, a new place to belong. I guess that’s why nomads broke all the rules back in the day…they didn’t want to belong to anything or any place other than themselves.

Pack your bags, kiddos.

Plus I slept in my new favorite Bulldogs hoodie last night, and now I don’t want to take it off. I think I might slap a ‘Emotional Recovery’ stamp on this afternoon. Sad, yes, but I’m feeling pretty low for multiple reasons.

All I need is a box of tissues and a sob-worthy chick flick.

However, there is one way to turn a frown upside down with me, and that is with my Fabulous Friday. Here is what made my Friday extra Fabulous this time around:

Fabulous Season:

I’m hanging on to this sight when the snow starts to fall.

Fabulous Cookie Recipe:

It might not be a recipe, but look at how awesome these cookies look!

Fabulous Spooky Make-Up:

Sort of spooky, but sort of beautiful at the same time.

Fabulous Fall Treat:

How delicious do these sound? Starbucks Frappucinno Cupcakes.

Fabulous Breakfast:

Use Christmas cookie cutters to pour pancake batter into them for awesome-shaped pancakes.

Fabulous Post-Wedding Moment:

First private alone-time kiss right after the ceremony? Hot.

Fabulous Wedding Accessory:

How cute are these for the groom the day of the wedding?

Fabulous Bathroom Organizer:

A simple shelf can now hold all those lady hair products that clog up counter space. Amazing.

Fabulous Smile:

“I feel like if Mockingjay is split into two movies, they’ll end the first one at Katniss and Peeta’s reunion. Like it’ll show him wring her neck and Boggs punch him and then boom credits and we’re all just sitting there like this.” – Emma Stone on Hunger Games.

Fabulous Halloween Decorations:

So simple. Put a light inside a plastic milk jug and draw a face on it.

Fabulous Kitten Action:

Kung-Fu Kittens! Hi-YA!

Fabulous English Lesson:

Fabulous Elf Trick:

Tape up your child’s bedroom door so they have to fight their way out in the morning, and tell them Santa did it so they wouldn’t sneak out in the middle of the night to get their presents.

Fabulous Tan Line:

Secret agent gun placeholder.

Fabulous Bedroom:

Who wouldn’t want to sleep in a horse-drawn carriage?

I seriously need a bowl of soup with a Gatorade or something along those lines. I’m just not having a good day here. However, there is a gigantic tub of ice cream in my freezer. I bought that ice cream before the wedding, convincing my sister I was allowed a bowl every night if I wanted. It was slow-churned frozen yogurt, after all. You know what? I didn’t even touch the stuff.

This is heaven in a martini bowl.

Granted, I also abandoned by entire workout regime that same week, but I also stuck to fruits and veggies a whole lot more…and more chicken strips I probably should have consumed, but hey! I looked great, the bride looked great, and I didn’t falter on a single note of either song or reading. Damn good prep on my part.

Belting it!

But now I’m going to lie in self-pity on the couch, and pray those ambulance sirens aren’t carting off anyone I know to a local mortuary because there have been a lot of them in the last 12 hours.

I don’t even know how our doctors rate around here when its an emergency.

May the Force be with them this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

