Come Together. Right Now.

Posted on Updated on

I woke up this morning feeling renewed and rejuvenated. It might because I have a psuedo-date this afternoon after work and I’m excited to doll myself up for that. It could the feeling of being a total bad-ass as I skipped my workout class this morning. (After watching election coverage until late into the night, I was not about to get up before the crack of dawn to get my butt whooped into shape. Plus, my calves are almost capable of walking without pain! Very good news indeed!)

Refreshed like a new dream.

I’ll get myself back into the work-out mode this weekend, but right now, I’m reveling in the fact that my vote counted. All three candidates and both amendments I was rooting for…all of them passed the way I voted. This is so incredibly exciting, and once again, I have played a part in history. It’s a pretty cool feeling, knowing I helped shape the future.

VICTORY!

Not going to lie, I would have loved to be a fly on the wall in either Romney’s or Obama’s private quarters as the numbers started to reveal their final outcome last night. Romney’s done politically. His wife was adamant. How would you feel about that? Spend your entire life in one arena, and after one (majorly) failed election, just hang it all up like that. I would be utterly depressed. I know it.

My cuticles would be destroyed by the end of the night.

I’m sure he’ll be just fine. Like any politician, he’s got money to fall back on. How else did he get into the race to begin with? Of course, with a new day, there are new hopes and other hiccups one might not have seen the previous day. Like how close the election really was. While Obama may have won by some 2 million votes, it’s not an overwhelming margin. Half of this country still wants to see new leadership. While democracy spoke last night, it’s a wake-up call to the future president who will take over the position of POTUS in 2016.

Are they even, or is there more Red? I don’t know…Let’s not get technical here.

“In an autocracy, one person has his way; in an aristocracy a few people have their way; in a democracy, no one has his way.”

I don’t know if I can agree with Celia Green, a plain-speaking philosopher. America spoke last night, and while I still feel there is a lot of unrest and major changes need to happen (otherwise it would have been a landslide election, and not as close as it was for half the night.), a majority of the country got its way last night. Hello! We voted for him. If we didn’t like him, we wouldn’t have filled in our little circles on the ballot next to Obama/Biden.

I’m sure you’ve gotten your way, honey.

The big thing now? Congress and POTUS must work together. Must, must, must! Our country is not in the green zone yet, and arguing based on the ideal of different political standings is not helping the majority of the American people. It’s wasting our time, our tax dollars, and not really helping anyone along. Seriously…you’re all grown ups with life experiences. Figure it out!

Playing dress up and using fancy words, but really acting like 5-year-olds.

I’m going to remain hopeful that the light bulb will go off above all their skulls, and we’ll make progress in these upcoming 4 years. We were once a prosperous country. We still are, in every respect of the word prosperous. Millions of people still die trying to make their way over here every single year. That’s something we Americans need to remember. People die to try to live here.

Land of the free, home of the Brave.

I could go into a whole new litany of immigrants and how I feel about those laws, but I’ve made a point to try to avoid political standings here. I do state my opinions, and I back them up the best I can. Sometimes, I rant for the sake of ranting. But as a Jedi, I have one main goal, and that is to uphold peace and justice in the universe, to help those who cannot help themselves.

Listen well, my young Padawan learners.

It’s not an easy path, and I don’t believe I ever said it was. I screw up, and screw up big-time every so often. Taking on the position of President of the United States, or of any country, is a gigantic undertaking. I’m not sure I could do it without falling flat on  my face once or a hundred times.

Down for the count.

A solid reason behind why I would want to be Vice President. Still in the limelight, still holding a ton of power, but the world spotlight isn’t on me 24/7. I have a touch more privacy than POTUS. Although I would love to claim the title of 1st Female President of the US. Any strong female would feel the same, I think.

Geena Davis is the perfect First Lady of the United States of America.

Ah, too much political talk for one day. I’m not even sure I managed to get anywhere in the past 600 words…but with the wedding over, I have lots of time on my hands. If there is one major thing this election highlighted in my own personal life, it’s that I do not keep up with current events the way I once did. So, about 20 minutes ago, I looked up the going rate for a USA Today subscription. Not only would I be supporting the journalism field (which is very close to my heart!), but I’d be keeping myself up to date on a daily basis.

Covers every topic a person would want to know every single day.

Now, it might not be the most hard-hitting when it comes to facts, but it would put the big issues on my radar, and that’s what I need. I’ll form my own opinions or research a topic on my own time, but I need a starting point. A newspaper subscription with a bigger world-view than my current city of choice is a definite start.

Look at how high I can jump!

Look at me! I’m slowly, but surely, turning into a grown-up.

(Be sure to check in within the next 3 hours where I’m sure to have a 2-year-old meltdown. I know me. It’s bound to happen 🙂 )

Oh yeah….it’s happening…
Leave a Reply

