The Wedding Weekend is Finally Here!!!

Posted on

It’s my 200th post, and it comes with a fair warning: I shall be MIA again for a stretch of days here, and for good reason.

The long-awaited wedding day is almost finally upon us, and I shall be packing up my car with all the wedding goodies I have crafted, collected and bought over the past 10 months. The sweat, the tears, the blood, the giggles, the hot-glued fingers, the technological head poundings…it’s all been worth it. The dieting and crazy exercising (which I have failed to do in the last week because of how busy I have been with wedding plans…how ironic is that?) not such a big deal now.

All the work, and look at how pretty is all fits together!

I can’t believe it…The wedding is finally HERE! So, I’ll be hitting the highway tonight where I will have access to a hot glue gun and I’ll be finishing the card box. It look so elegant with its black base and sangria colored ribbons. Add on a few sparkling gems and pearls, and a couple of corner bows and it’s going to be beautiful. I’m very proud of my crafters’ work with this card box.

I could really use a sangria right about now. Calm my nerves down.

Friday  morning will see us at the reception hall decorating for the Big Day. Then, we have the grand march rehearsal, and I need to warm my voice up immensely. It’ll be the first time the music and I have actually done this together.  Then, the rehearsal dinner where we all laugh and embrace the fact that my sister will no longer be a single lady in society.

To being the mere single one in my family. Huzz-ah!

It is the night I embrace the fact I am the last woman in my family to carry on the original female last name for our family. It’s a great burden to bear, but I think I can handle it well.

We shall not stay up too late on Friday as we have hair appointments bright and early on Saturday! Don’t forget to back the button down shirts, ladies. No pulling a shirt up and over that professionally done hair-do. Then, make-up and nails, and off to the church to get dressed. The dresses are one-shouldered and absolutely gorgeous. I have such an hourglass figure, it’s insane.

I wish I had enough hair to do this.

The remaining time will be spent praying I don’t trip as I walk up the aisle, and I remember all my cues. Plus, I need to make sure that my handwriting is legible…I had a marriage certificate to sign 🙂

“If you survive long enough, you’re revered — rather like an old building.”

Well, I hope my awesomeness at being Maid of Honor is what survives for years to come. The no-nonsense icon, Katherine Hepburn, is someone I won’t be forgetting any time soon. She made those pantsuits look damn good in a time when I woman was supposed to be feminine and flowy in her skirts.

Feel her power radiate off the screen.

While I do love my skirts and dresses, I also have a fondness for pants. There are days where a power suit is absolutely needed.

Screams respect, that’s all I’m saying.

Anyways, I do need to get going. I’m not entirely done packing for what is bound to be a whirlwind of a weekend, but I am more than pumped for it! My entire family, my best friend, dancing, pretty dresses and girlish indulgences.

If this happens, I wouldn’t be objective to it.

A wedding is meant to be a once in a lifetime experience. If my sister is only getting married once, I’m going to party like it’s the last night I’m alive.

Only once.

Watch out Dance Floor! This Jedi is coming to liven up the night!

The moves are coming out!

But before I do that, I should probably write that Maid of Honor speech 😉

It’s all in my noggin…now to get it on paper.
Leave a Reply

