I Happen to Love Food, Okay?

Posted on Updated on

Struggling with self-image is not a fight about I’m about win. Nor is it one I’m about to lose.

Why can’t I ever, ever be happy?

I’m simply sitting on my couch, writing here to you after a lovely and high-spirited Zumba class, and all I can think about is how my hips still look chubby in the mirrors while I’m dancing my ass off.

Oh yeah, feel the extreme burn!

The first thing you learn when posing for pictures is that you never stand straight-on toward the camera. It makes everything go wider than it actually is. Mirrors don’t add on 10 extra pounds when you look at your reflection, do they? Anyways, I look wide and chubby, but the instant I turn to either one of my sides? I’m as slim and skinny as every woman in that room dreams to be (maybe except my sister, who is smaller than me in every possible respect.)

See? None of them are facing the camera straight on.

If I could only look at myself sideways for the rest of my life. I consciously made a decision yesterday while eating my lunch. I’m never going to let myself get fat. I’m going to lose the extra 5-10 pounds I’ve put my mind to losing in the next couple of months, but I am never, ever going to let myself get overweight.

Not exactly what I was doing on my break, but…close?

I’m also going to be a kick-ass party thrower. I have lots of books, lots of tips, and tons of ideas. Watch out world. When I make my millions and have many, many friends, I’m going to be the party-throwing queen.

A paint party is for sure on my parties-to-throw list!

“If we had not been pretty, I think we would have been drowned like little dogs. That’s my mother!”

The fantastic, but alarming, words of Zsa Zsa Gabor, the sassy socialite. Oh yes, who else would have the guts to say such a thing.

Glamour queen from the start, and someone I take sassiness notes from on a daily basis.

It’s a struggle every woman is going to have with herself from the moment she hears the word ‘pretty’ and starts asking herself if this word applies to her. The minute she picks up that first tube of lipstick, she’s getting sucked into the horrible wind tunnel of make-up land. Don’t get me wrong, make-up is so much fun and really is addicting.

It’s when you become a slave to the product is when you have to worry.

But they are so darn preeeeeetty!

If any woman in the world tripped upon a magic lamp containing a genie who would grant one wish upon her, I really, really hope she would not be selfish (because I know I would.) With her selflessness, she would grant the female world freedom of self-judgement. No longer would she look in the mirror and compare herself to every other single woman out there. No teenagers would have eating disorders in the attempt to be “perfect.” We would all discover our strengths and talents, and find our beauty from them.

Embrace the inner strength of yourself. Be tough.

But I tend to live in a fantasy world 95% of the time.

I am one girl who loves to eat, and eat well. I have stacks of recipe books I intend to cook my way through. Indeed, each and every one, be it a 100 gourmet dinner or 2000 decadent desserts. Oh yes, I do love my food.

This is actually a dessert cookbook I don’t own yet. I’m getting on Amazon right now!

It’s long overdue, but here is my New Day Sunday for the month of September. There were great discoveries last month at the grocery store, and if you haven’t tried them already, next time you’re in the grocery store, add an item or two to your shopping list. Life is worth living. Don’t let a few bucks set you back from delighting your taste buds.

Produce:

Perfect breakfast food. I’m not kidding.

Bakery:

Light and fluffy. You barely feel like you’re eating anything!

Canned Goods:

As a farm girl, I love sweet corn more than the average person.

Breakfast/Cereal:

Surprisingly good for coming in a cardboard bowl.

Meats:

Perfectly salty after a hard workout.

Dairy:

It doesn’t even feel like the word ‘skinny’ is in the name of the ice cream.

Frozen Foods:

Only add apple juice and you have yourself a truly fruity smoothie!

Beverages:

I often forgot I was drinking iced coffee, so it would catch my by surprise once the ice had all melted.

Toiletries:

This one really works! And the skin around my eyes feels amazing afterwards.

Baby:

Such a lovely crib, and teaching them luxury early on.

Household:

Bananas in your way? Not anymore!

Pets:

The ultimate swimming adventure for your fish.

Snacks:

Lots of avocado. Lots of loving.

Miscellaneous:

Yes, its Pure Romance, but it works amazingly well on menstrual cramps and I get them bad.

Seriously, don’t  hold back. Ever.

Before Anakin turned to the dark side, he was labeled a lot of things. Reckless, brave, a witty combatant, fearless behind the controls of a fighter spacecraft. Regardless of what they said about him, he grabbed life by the horns and let the ride happen.

Making out with a senator in broad daylight. I’d call that reckless.

It might also be the reason why he let his emotions get the best of him, which turned into his downfall…but that’s not what we’re focusing on here.

Come on, let’s get back to the mission now.

Get out there and try something new. Even if all it happens to be is a new flavor of ice cream.

It’s never going to actually happen, but in the world of ice cream, anything is possible.
Leave a Reply

