Warning: Political Topics Ahead

Posted on

We are on the brink of October, and I couldn’t be  more excited.

So many memories in this month…

October is possibly my favorite month out of the entire year (although June is a close second to that…I really love the month of June, and no, it’s not just because it’s my birthday month.) The leaves are turning all sorts of reds, oranges, and yellows…Full Fall Mode and I love it! The weather is cooler in the morning and night, but in the afternoon, it is still absolutely gorgeous out. All I need is a heavier leather jacket or a warm hoodie to make it through the cooler temps.

Two words: Bad Ass.

I’m more grateful for the time I get to spend outdoors, which questions my motives for sitting right now and writing this blog post. It’s supposed to be 70-something degrees out right now, and I’m here, in a computer lab, killing precious sunlit hours. What’s wrong with me?

I have a keen desire to write since I haven’t done it in the past 3 days, that’s what’s wrong with me.

“The world language is English as spoken by foreigners.”

Does anyone ever really understand another these days? My answer is a full, loudly spoken “no.” So, Kristen Nygaard, a programming language pioneer, I think I have to agree with you. This could bring up a whole whopping list of topics, all concerning the upcoming presidential election, but I’m going to choose to refrain from these topics.

Girls can be language nerds, too!

It is not a Jedi’s place to try to impress another’s ideas onto someone else. We express our opinion, and then fight for peace and justice. Not always with our lightsabers, but when the negotiations call for aggressive moves, more often than not, the blazing swords come out.

We decided to go with aggressive negotiations.

I met up with a gentlemen for drinks last night. Quite cute, funny, and easy to talk to…but he asked what my stance on a lot of things are, and I told him it’s my place in the universe to stand up for peace and justice. Then he threw me a curveball…what if I had to choose one or the other: peace OR justice? I thought about it a second, and then answered, justice.

Vote Luke Skywalker 2012!

Honestly? This world is never going to know long-lasting peace. History, when tallied up, has seen maybe 200 years of peace in the thousands of years human civilization  has roamed the earth. I mean, the animal world is constantly at war with each other and we supposedly evolved from theses creatures (don’t even get my started on the theory of evolution!) There are too many people out there who have been told from the moment they are born “s0-and-so is your enemy.” While I think everyone can learn to be friends, I can’t speak on the behalf of 6 billion people.

If a fox and a hound can be friends, so can two different religions.

Even the Transformers could only help us fight an impending alien force who wanted nothing more than to cause chaos and enslavement on our planet (and if the Transformers can’t uphold peace on their planet, we’re all doomed.)

Is there a sexier robot than Optimus Prime?

I recently watched the movie “Babel” and the entire theme of communication barriers was quite interesting to me. A large area of my work is centered on communication and what gets people ticking. A lack of communication, or a lack of understanding of one’s language, is a huge issue. I find it interesting that here in America, you can find the building instructions to anything written in multiple languages, from English to Spanish to Korean to Farsi. You’re telling me if I moved to Saudi Arabia, and I needed to go out and buy a piece of furniture, I would find instructions on how to build a couch written in English for me? I highly doubt it.

Not in English? Don’t worry…every other language in the world is included.

I know America is highlighted as the land of eternal opportunity…Come here and all of your dreams will come true. A hundred years later, and our country is still deemed as the land of opportunity. Where a small town girl can win American Idol, and become a famous singer overnight. Where someone can start a computer business in his garage and become the CEO of the most successful company in the entire world (here’s looking at you, Apple.) However, just because we are the land of unending opportunities doesn’t mean we should have to cater to each and every individual that comes to live here.

A true American story, indeed.

Our native language is English. Learn it already. If I moved to China, I would be expected to have an understanding and capability to speak the language.

I really don’t want to get into a political posting here, but I’ve probably already said too much. Just be warned, there will probably be more as the election draws closer. I try to avoid these things, but man, I get so swept up in the excitement. It’s the romantic in me. If I’m not tearing my own heart out about something on a daily basis, I just feel lost.

Seriously gorgeous.

Let’s flip gears here, shall we? The weekend is almost over (le sigh), but there were things I found which  made my entire week oh-so-wonderful. Here are my Fabulous Fridays:

Fabulous New Sunglasses:

Ever since I discovered Top Gun, I’ve been in love with aviators.

Fabulous Evening:

Country style. Just add a cozy blanket, a hot cup of hot chocolate, and Lord of the Rings or Star Wars marathon. Perfect evening.

Fabulous Idea:

Put your favorite quote on the light switch, and you’ll feel inspired every single day.

Fabulous Bowling Shoes:

I’d wear them as regular, every day shoes.

Fabulous Farm Girl Truth:

Fabulous Challenge to Society:

My heart has fallen out of my chest, and on to the floor. Too much to handle…

Fabulous Decor:

Don’t bother with a headboard. Use curtains and drape them into the shape of your desired headboard.

Fabulous Train Ride:

Officially on my Bucket List.

Fabulous Treat:

S’more cones. In the fall season, need I say more?

Fabulous Bit of Body Art:

Declare your inner, zodiac self. Myself, I am a Cancer and fully proud of it!

Fabulous Thought Worth Sharing:

Fabulous Thankfulness:

So simple…and all in front of our faces.

Fabulous Future Wedding:

Wearing Daddy’s heart on your sleeve…sort of 🙂

Fabulous Quote:

Fabulous Closet Space:

Glorious, glorious space!

It’s time to get out of here to enjoy the fall sunshine, and maybe take a stroll along the lake. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

It just makes me feel all fuzzy inside!

Too soon we’ll be getting down to business once again.

You tell’em, Captain Shang.
Leave a Reply

