Jedi Don’t Quit

Posted on Updated on

Friday’s are supposed to be days of joyous celebration, aren’t they?

I mean, the work week is THISCLOSE to being over, I put extra effort into my overall look this morning when I crawled out of bed, I let myself splurge on lunch a little bit, I don’t have to work at my part-time “fun job” when I walk out of here in a few hours, and I have a few of my fave movie scores playing in the background all while i work the afternoon away. (Did I mention I spent about an hour on Pinterest, and it was all for work-related purposes?)

John Powell, you did it again

Yet, everything seems to point in the direction of “an awful day” when I shake the magical What-Will-My-Day-Be-Like 8-Ball.

“All of humanity is living in a dream world, but suffering real consequences.”

Lauren Hill, a lovely Grammy girl, has hit me on the nose. I’ll admit most days, I live in my own fantasy world. But when the real world hits…watch out.

She’s got it going on.

First things first. I could barely open my eyes this morning. Maybe it was because I spent an hour at the gym waaaay beyond my normal work-out schedule. The gym closed 15 minutes after my departure. Yeah, I was there that late because my schedule ended up needing me to be more flexible than I was almost ready to give. Anyways…

I managed to throw a few pieces of bread into a container along with my jar of Nutella, so I wasn’t starving halfway through the morning. I’ve been experiencing small fits of nausea every morning for the past couple of weeks, and I honestly don’t know why. It’s actually very obnoxious.

If you haven’t tried it, you should. It will rock your world.

Before trudging up the stairs, I decided to put a little more effort into my appearance. Not the usual Friday style of jeans and maroon/gold fitted T-shirt. I put on a polka-dotted, flirty dress and paired it with my fave black boots. You know, putting a little more rock n’ roll into the feminine side of things. It’s like me. I can be a sensitive case of tears one minute, and then totally all about kicking your ass the next,. In other words, don’t cross me. (An old friend of mine once told I’m crazy…he may be right. Or I’m a Cancer…I’ll let you decide.)

So much love for my boots and dresses. Seriously.

Where did things go wrong with my outfit? I noticed too late that if I stand in a well-lit area, you could clearly see right through the skirt of my dress and there was a small possibility the color of my underwear became noticeable to anyone who caught a glance. Throw in a large case of static cling with my skirt, and I’m suddenly wearing very flowy, polka-dotted shorts.

At least my boobs didn’t pop out anywhere.

Yeah…wardrobe malfunction in the professional setting. I’m learning my Big Girl Lessons fast.

This is all before I even get to work. Once I’m at my office, I get my computer booted, check my personal and work email (as is my usual routine) and I immediately find three emails showing comments on a work new blog post made the day before. One of them was great feedback. The other two? Not so nice.

Hanging by a thread here…

The rest of the morning was spent in crisis mode. How do we respond, do we even respond? If we do, what do we say? How do we say that?
Just a mess of stuff.

Chicken strips and onion rings suited me for lunch, and I let myself have an extra dipping cup of mayonnaise. Terrible, I know, but it’s so nummy and after the morning I had, it was deserved. Plus it’s Friday!

Such a guilty indulgence…

Rest of the afternoon went fine, and I actually was told to go home 15 minutes early. I was able to go to the grocery store! I haven’t actually shopped for food in a long, long time. I was able to take my time, go from one end of the store to the other, and back again.

It was halfway through shopping when my stomach suddenly took a lurch. It kept up until I got home, where it seemed to tighten and churn more. Probably against my better judgement, I head to the gym and did a ‘Walk for 5, Run for 10, Walk for 5, Run for 10’ type of routine. I actually felt really good running, but when the cramps set back in, I was toast. I couldn’t do it. I kept telling myself “Jedi Don’t Quit,” and they especially don’t quit because they feel sick. So…I kept pushing.

Just keep running….even when the guy on the treadmill next to you burps every 5 seconds and then breathes it in your direction, and it smells like rotting pizza.

Bad idea. I got home, and just about died. Stomach cramps, womanly area cramps, showering didn’t make me feel better…nothing felt good. I ate some soup, but my stomach didn’t like it. Little did I know, , my sister ordered a ton of Chinese food and she told me to help myself. Another bad idea: I did. I ate cream cheese wontons, sweet and sour chicken, general tsao chicken, rice…all of it.

Must find a recipe and make my own batch

I’ll be spending a lot of time in the bathroom in the next 24 hours, that’s for sure.

After I ate, I passed out on the couch. Cold. The only time i do that is when I’m not feeling well. Off to bed I go.

Out. Cold.

But before I pass out entirely, here are the Fabulous things that made this Friday, and the prior work days, awesomely bearable.

Fabulous Fall Combination:

I want to do an entire room in these shades.

Fabulous Smile:

Hilarious…

Fabulous Idea:

Take a piece of plastic on the other side of their door after they’ve gone to sleep, fill the space between sheet of plastic and the closed-door with balloons, and they’ll open their door to an avalanche of balloons in the morning.

Fabulous Make-Up Moment:

I will always love glitter. Always, always, always.

Fabulous Updo:

Kate, you are always so fabulous.

Fabulous Political Pause:

Fabulous Disney Remix:

It was only time before Disney jumped on the bandwagon of this song.

Fabulous Autumn Day:

Absolute perfection…I love summer, but autumn will always hold a special place in my heart.

Fabulous Fall Blazer:

The subtle touch of purple, and I am sold.

Fabulous Fall Salad:

Think of it as a harvest…the greens, walnuts, a raspberry dressing. Lovely.

Fabulous Pie:

Raspberry crumble. Yum.

Fabulous Self-Mantra:

Fabulous Reminder:

Fabulous Movie Theater:

How sweet would this be? Relaxing on the water PLUS a movie on the big screen? I’m there.

Fabulous Motion:

How sweet is this?

A best friend is coming into town, and I better not be sick to see and hang out with her manana. I need a few beers, and gal pal time.

Grab a growler and let your inner tiger out…

Like I said, Jedi Don’t Quit.

Leave a Reply

