Once Again, Josh Groban Sweeps Me Off My Feet

Posted on Updated on

Dreams are always too delicious.

Buzz gets me.

I didn’t want to wake up this morning. I did not want to get out of my bed. What I really wanted to do was slip back into slumber and return to the ah-mazing dream I was having before my alarm clock decided to be a total party pooper and rouse me from dream world AKA what should be my reality.

“They were kind of dirty looking pebbles. I didn’t know. I’m used to seeing diamonds shiny and in a box. These are the kind of diamonds I am used to seeing.”

I have to admit, I think Naomi Campbell, the supermodel, makes herself sound more than a little silly here, when asked about accepting the gift of diamonds from an African dictator. But, if we think about diamonds here as if they were dreams, I would have to whole-heartedly agree with her.

Wiser words could have been said, I think.

Some dreams suck. More than suck. They are downright frightening and terrible.

Pan’s Labyrinth? Kind of freaky.

Others? They make your heart soar higher than any caffeinated beverage ever could.

This will keep me going for a while, too.

I love dreaming. Not just in the fantastical sense, but also in the REM sense. They are so interesting. I’m a firm believer our dreams are the gateway to what is happening in our live. They make us look at ourselves in a new light and force us to confront what we refuse to when our eyes are wide open in daylight. I’ve learned a few things about myself through the interpretation of my own dreams, and it’s utterly fascinating.

In other words, yes, I am that nerd who will be found looking at dream interpretation books at Barnes and Noble (although I have to admit I find Freud to be incredibly frustrating when it comes to dream interpretation. Just because I dreamt about a blue Laz-E-Boy chair does not mean I have a repressed sexual urge of any kind.)

I don’t just read books. I devour them.

You know what? I don’t care if you see me. I like what I like and there is nothing you can do about it!

So, what was this dream that made me momentarily hate my real life? Let me tell you…

Myself and a few unknowns (but I felt their presence about me, so I knew I had friends with me)were attending a rather intimate concert of none other but Josh Groban. So, he is up on his stage, sitting on a bar stool of sorts and doing his thing. He finishes his song, and he starts talking tot he audience. He asked us, the audience, to shout out the reasons we decided to come to his concert that evening. Much closer to the stage than I had earlier thought, I jumped up with my hand in the air and shouted, “It’s my birthday! I tweeted you about it. Did you see it?”

Excuse me, but my heart just skipped a beat.

His reply, “You also sent me a card, didn’t you? For my birthday?” I nodded quite vigorously (I must have been nodding in my sleep, too, because my neck is just killing me this afternoon!) He smiled that boyishly charming smile of his, and told me, “I thought so. I actually kept the envelope, so I knew how to find you.” Ever so coy, I tucked my hair behind my ear, and said, “Well, I’m right here. Guess you found me.” He held out his hand to me, and I took the stage with him where he wrapped me in the warmest hug I have ever experienced. (Seriously, I am getting goosebumps just thinking about how great that hug was!)

They looked something like this, as far as I can remember.

Next thing you know, he’s leading me by the hand backstage, out the door, into his limo, and we’re back at his hotel suite. His room quickly became the gathering ground for his fellow band mates and they soon were creating new music for us to listen to. What were we doing? Cuddling on his bed, listening to his friends create new music on the spot. Very much an improv music session. We sat and listened to the music for a short bit, but then after a short time, while a sweet looking dude with long Jamaican dreads started tapping away on his metal-topped drum, he whispered in my ear, “I have something to show you. Let’s sneak out of here.” No one even looked up when we quietly stood up and slipped out the door.

I’m holding on like Jack told me,…er, I mean Rose, to do.

Still holding hands, we walked quickly down the hall, stealing glances at each other and giggling the more and more we walked (honestly, this part reminded me of the scene in Titanic when Rose and Jack quickly duck out the back door of Rose’s stateroom after Lovejoy decides to stop by and try to crash their party, and they quickly, but calmly, walk down the hallways in the opposite way of Lovejoy’s soon-to-happen discovery of them.)

Run!

Anyways, he whisks me out the hotel’s front entrance, despite rampant staring from people in the lobby as we passed. We escape the rotating door, and like he can’t resist a moment longer, he grabs me around the shoulders and waist, and pulls me in for a deep, deep kiss. (Siiiiiiiiiiigh!)We pull apart for a moment, start to laugh….

There may have been a small dip involved during said kiss.

And that’s where my dream ends. Do you understand why I didn’t want to return to reality? I mean, I was making out with Josh Groban! That’s a dream come true in so many ways.

I mean…It’s Josh Groban!

Good thing I have my Josh Groban station going on my Pandora.

Thinking about it at this moment really makes me wish I had a guy to run home to and kiss until the sun set. (In case you haven’t noticed, I am a hopeless romantic…and yes, my heart is pitter-pattering at the recalling to mind of this dream.)

I’d even settle for this.

I have a feeling I know what Freud would say about this dream, and I would really want to tell him to shut it. Yes, a relationship is always at the back of my mind, but at the same time, I just don’t know. Currently, my love life consists of seeing a cute guy at Barnes and Noble or at a work reception, I smile, lower my eyes, and scurry past as soon as my legs will carry me.

I mean, what is that?!? How can I hope to catch a fella’s eye when I can’t even bring myself to look at him a second time?

There’s no hope for me…but there is for you and I hope you grasp those opportunities with all the muster and might you can with both hands. In case you need a little uplifting, here are my weekly words of encouragement to lift your spirits:

– Every dream starts with a first step.

Without the training, he would not have become Zorro.

– You are someone’s hero.

Katniss became the hero for all 13 Districts. Whose hero might you be without even knowing?

– Easier times are ahead.

You’re going to win this fight, you hear me?

– Give yourself some applause.

Go ahead, and give yourself a large, loud cheer along with that applause.

– Love will fill your heart if you let it.

Open your heart and you might find yourself running home.

– One positive thought can set a whole new future in motion.

Snow White knew she could defeat the Evil Queen, and so she lead the army to do it.

– You’re a star. Let yourself shine!

Let me be your star!

Do you think Mr. Groban will appear in my dreams again tonight? I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Come back anytime, Mr. Groban. I’ll be waiting.

Until I find myself getting ready for some deep shut-eye, this little diddy will have to do.

One thought on “Once Again, Josh Groban Sweeps Me Off My Feet

    Mike said:
    August 31, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I think you should check to see if the guy in B&N is looking back when he thinks you are not looking. I always think about two ships passing in the night not realizing that they are that close their lights shining on the other at different moments – which makes me think of Ladyhawke – so close almost touching forever together forever apart. I believe in love even if it hasn’t happened to me in a long, long time. It is always there even or especially when it’s like the promise of rain in a ever distant thundercloud.
    I still can hope it will rain, someday.

Leave a Reply

