Polka Dotted or Sequined, They All Belong on the Beach

Posted on Updated on

I have committed a very serious sin against the season known as summer and every spirit that makes her as magical as she is, right down to the sunsets.

Please don’t hurt me, Mother Summer.

My bathing suits? Not worn nearly enough.

Everything in this picture belongs to summertime.

Not worn enough while soaking up the sun on the sandy beaches, not worn enough while floating on kid-sized floaties in the big lake I like to imagine is a giant ocean parked in my backyard, and not worn nearly enough while frolicking in the water whether I’m cooling down or actually swimming for exercise/any sort of daily activity.

“There are two kinds of swimming suits. If you are going to swim, wear a water bathing suit. But if you are merely going to play on the beach and pose for your camera friends, you may safely wear the dry land variety.”

A girl needs to have a small arsenal of swimsuits in her collection for a variety of reasons, and Annette Kellerman , who was busted for wearing a one-piece before its time, speaks to this completely female need.

The original bathing suit beauty

I have my different reasons for going to the beach. About 80% of the time, yes, I am going to enjoy the warm sunshine on patches of my skin mostly hidden away during the winter months (and where I live, that tends to be 9 months out of the year).

I have few chances to get the sun to smile upon me, and I don’t waste those opportune moments.

The other 20%? It could be a variety of things. When the waves are ragingly high for this lake, I like to indulge my adventurous side and go wave diving. Especially when they get so high and you get off shore far enough, you look behind you and can;t see the beach over the cresting waves. With the flood that happened about a month ago now, there could be anything in that water. Logs, dead fish, and other clunky debris. Every time I take a dive under a giant, rolling wave, I could be headed for disaster.

This is what I do…minus the surfboard.

Literally. If there’s a log under the water, and I dive right into its path: Headed for Disaster. Ha. It’s sort of funny…Never mind…

Every once in a while, I go to the beach to enter a certain frame of mind I like to call ‘Paradise.’ I go to the beach, I lay on my anchor-patterned beach towel, but when I get hot, I step into the water to cool off. If I’m with someone, maybe we’ll wade into the water up to mid-calf height, and toss a football or a Frisbee around. Catch on the beach is a must.

Frisbee is a must on the beach.

If I’m feeling really ambitious? I’ll suggest finding a net to play some beach volleyball. Or we’ll pretend to have a net. This allows me to indulge in my current Olympic beach volleyball fantasy. (And yes, my teammate is probably Misty Mae-Treanor.)

Raise the roof, ladies!

Of all the situations I’ve just described, each of these moments at the beach requires a different sort of bathing suit. It might sound excessive, but I’m not going to wear a string bikini when I’m jumping, falling, and running around diving after a ball when playing beach volleyball.

If I’m merely soaking up some rays (or, not really exerting myself while at the beach), I’ll wear a tinier, more exposed swimsuit to allow the sun to hit as many areas of skin for even tanning as possible. This also allows for less tan lines (and yes, I am wearing sunscreen. Calm down already!)

She wore an itsy, bitsy, teen-weeny, bold colored green bikini.

If I’m wave diving, I’m wearing a swimsuit with more support than the lounging bikini. If I’m diving under some gnarly waves (some surfer speak for you!), I want my girls to stay in place and not hanging out all willy-nilly when I come back to the surface. No, sir. I do not want that beach mishap on my beach record if I can help it.

It offers plenty of support, trust me.

If I’m more in between, like yes, I *might* go in the water, but I’m going to spend a good portion of my time on the sand, I have a nice in between bikini for that situation. Or I mix and match the two mentioned from above. When you’re slightly more chesty than the average girl, I tend to worry more about my upper regions than my lower, and I like my legs most of the time, so why not show them off a bit more?

Mix and match lovelies!

If I’m going to play some beach volleyball? It’s the most athletic bikini I have in my collection. I am not falling out or losing anything while going for the next big dig or lunging upwards for that spike. My girly parts are NOT going anywhere. I might not be the best eye candy at the beach that day, but I’m quite okay with that.

Keep the ladies in check, okay?

I don’t need to be known as the girl who flashed an entire beach full of children and adults alike.

Ladies, don’t let anyone tell you that you ever have too many bikinis. As long as each one serves its necessary purpose, you’re allowed to have as many as you want. Plus, you want a couple of extras in case you’re going out and wearing a wet swimsuit all day long just sounds terribly uncomfortable to your ears (and bum.)

Seriously. Wet jeans chafe and it is SO uncomfortable on the thighs.

It is uncomfortable.

Just thinking about the beach makes knowing this week is half way over puts a smile on my face. Adding to the feeling that I have only 3 more nights at my soon-to-be old job only adds to my happiness.

Feeling like a Glamorous Kate Winslet

In case you need more of a push, here are my Midweek Smiles:

– Look how far you’ve come.

An elf and a dwarf….look how far they came to become friends while looking evil in the face.

– Give a dream a makeover. Believe!

He believed he’d see Mal again…and he did.

– Important. That’s what you are.

– Life never runs out of joys.

– Smile more. Stress less.

You could stress out about being soaked and being photographed. BUT, Keira chose to smile instead. Like you should.

– Nothing can hold you back now.

Don’t hold back…even if you’re potentially chasing a fellow hero and trying to kill her out of rage.

– You don’t have to wait to be great. You already are!

VICTORY!

What’s getting you though the rest of the week? Knowing I no longer have to work evenings on a consistent basis is keeping this smile plastered across my face.

This smile isn’t going anywhere.

My Pandora 90s station has also made me dance more than once in my seat in the last hour.

Nothing like a little Backstreet’s Back (Alright!) to get my day moving a little quicker 🙂

Leave a Reply

