When It Comes to Money Talk, Let’s Not and Say We Did.

Posted on

Tie me up and make me sign a contract stating I will not waste time on the internet googling my newest obsession, thanks to the Olympics.

Except I am not in this much agony.

Two words: Ryan Lochte. Enough said.

I am officially obsessed with the man (in case you haven’t already figured that much out from my previous postings and my non-stop talk about him.) Another two words: Gorg-Eous! I could stare into those baby blues all day long.

I’d love to stare at his face in the morning while eating a bowl of Wheaties.

Here’s another indication I’ve become a full-blown Olympics junkie. I was doing a bit of online shopping this morning (another terrible habit I need to sign a contract on. No more online shopping when I start the Big Girl Job unless I have rightfully earned it!), and I came across a Team USA warm-up jacket I instantly told myself I needed to own. Not only could I feel like I’m a part of the action, but maybe…JUST maybe, I’d feel like a part of the Olympic team, too. (Wow…I just reread that statement, and I realize how much of a dork I am. Trust me, it I’m fully aware of the fact I live in my own la-la land 90% of the waking hours.)

Doesn’t it look comfy?

Trouble is, it only comes in youth sizes. I’ve worn young kids clothes before. My hockey jersey for my alma mater’s team is a youth size. For two reasons: 1.) It’s, like, $30 cheaper to buy the youth size, and 2.) The hockey jersey’s usually only come in men’s sizes and I still drown in a men’s size small.

When it comes to the female body, smaller usually is better. Especially in terms of hockey jersey’s.

Soooo…if I can get one cheaper and one which will fit me better, I’m going to go with the youth sized article of clothing. I’m hoping this holds true for the Team USA warm-up jackets, too, but I want to try one on. Sadly, I don’t think they’re going to have them in store. Before I rushing off to work, I’m going to stop by the store and see if by some miracle they have one in stock. Otherwise, hello on-line shopping cart. We meet again!

Online supermarket sweeeeeeeeep!

Now, if only I could find a shirt with Ryan Lochte’s face on it…

“When in doubt, do what someone successful does.”

An interesting piece of advice from Suze Orman, a finance fixer. I’m assuming she speaks in terms of the financial world when she uttered those words, but I think the lesson here can be applied to many areas of life.

A lady often featured in O magazine. How about that?

Like Orman said, you can live the life of a successful individual when it comes to finances in a number of ways. You can live large on a small budget (if you need help or ideas, there are tons of books on Amazon.com to help you get started)…

This is one such book.

…Or you can ignore the small budget entirely and spend, spend spend! Welcome to America where no one carries cash anymore. Just plastic. Cold, hard plastic in the form of a credit card. I’m as guilty as the next person. The only time I get cash is when I’m heading out with a friend and the bar we’re hitting up has a cover charge.

Fun little tidbit I learned about Ryan Lochte this morning…He is also guilty of never carrying cash. When interviewed by Swim Today magazine for a segment of their “25 Things You Didn’t Know About [insert celebrity swimmer’s name here]”, Ryan Lochte was asked the question of how much money would we find in your wallet right now. He generously guessed $1.00. When he actually opened his wallet to show the interviewer, there wasn’t a single bill of cash to be seen. “Nothing but credit cards,” said Lochte with a smile on that adorable face of his.

His answer? A blonde-ish brunette. Combine the two and you’ll get the best of both worlds. I accept his answer.

Okay, I’ll try to be done with my teenage crushing. For now, at least.

The important this with credit cards is to pay them off before you’re spending gets to be too outrageous, and you spend the rest of your life trying to reach the finish line of the debt-race game.

Let it rain in credit! Muhahahahahaha!

My advice? Make the purchase, and pay off that bill the instant it comes, especially if you can afford to pay it off right away. Otherwise, plan on making the monthly payments, and maybe a little more, if it’s a larger than usual purchase.

They’ll keep coming if you keep spending. A warning you best heed…

It seems simple, I know, but then why is America the winner when it comes to credit card debt?

I like to look at Orman’s words this way. What are key traits of successful people? They don’t ever allow themselves to stop. They are always working, always striving to reach that goal. They take chances. They may even take the road less traveled to reach their end goal. It might take a little longer, it might mean an extra project load to their already loaded table, but they do it.

Okay, so not everyone can jump into a machine that will hyper-start their DNA and make them bulk up in a matter of minutes…but still, you’d have to take the chance.

It’s as if they look forward down the road, and don’t really “see” the obstacles because they know they’re going to blow past them in no time.

That’s something I need to incorporate more into my lifestyle…and when it comes time to purchase this Team USA jacket. Nothing is going to keep me from adding it to my wardrobe!

This might be my pick to end all picks.

Just like I’m adding new clothes to my wardrobe, I’m trying new foods and trying out new ideas and products to expand my lifestyle and my overall world, even just a little bit. You know what it’s all about. It’s my New Day Sundays (and yes, I do know it’s Monday, but I was in recovery mode all of yesterday. I plopped on my couch and watched the Olympics, and that was it!). Here are the new things I tried in the month of July:

Produce: Alfalfa Sprouts

Putting alfalfa sprouts on your sandwich = an amazing replacement for lettuce and is just as nutritious.

Bakery: Strawberry Cream Cheese Muffins

Surprisingly delicious, and if made right, you simply sink your teeth into them.

Canned Goods: Pear Halves

A quick snack and easy treat. Who doesn’t love pears? Crazy people.

Breakfast/Cereal: Special K Breakfast Bars

Easy to throw in your bag on the way out the door, they hit the spot when hunger hits, but they really don’t last all that long. Especially if you’re a mover and a shaker.

Meats: Lobster Ravioli

I was cautious to try it, coming out the freezers at the grocery store. Seafood from any store tends to be hit or miss if you’re not paying an arm and a leg for it to be gourmet. However, it was rather tasteful and the leftovers heated up nicely the next day.

Dairy: Heluva Good! French Onion Dip

Doesn’t quite live up to the name Heluva! Good, but it’s something I would eat again.

Frozen Foods: Tyson Mini Chicken Sandwiches

Makes for a late night snack when the munchies hit, and you need something more substantial than ice cream.

Beverages: Strawberry Crush

Pop the top, and prepare to be transported back to feeling like a kid on a hot summer day.

Toiletries: Earth Therapeutics Heel Intensive Care

Most effective if applied to the feet when they are still slightly damp and warm from the shower/bath water. Seals in the cream a little better, and it releases a heavenly smell of mint.

Baby: John Deere Bunkbeds

Growing up on a farm where the blood runs green, this made my heart melt in adoration.

Household: Solar Powered Bricks

An environment friendly way to light your houses’ pathway without using actual electricity.

Pets: Hummingbird Feeder

Perfect if you have a small porch or deck to hang it on, plus the hummingbirds themselves with love the red color.

Snacks: Mystery Flavored Fruit by the Foot

Once again, you’ll feel like a kid, and maybe a little silly trying to eat the thing.

Misc: OPI Crackle Nail Polish in Gold

It’s pretty fun to watch it “crackle” across your fingernails.

What new things have you tried lately in the past month or so? What I have found the most exciting is when I’m in the beauty department or roaming around ULTA to see what new and fun products. There is so much to take in, and I’ve decided it would be fun to work as the beauty editor for a major fashion magazine. Constantly trying new products and letting others know how good they work? Sign me up.

I love checking out new cosmetics as much as I love eating new foods.

It’s only Monday, meaning the week is only just starting. I hope it’s off to good start for you.

Sanya Richards-Ross most certainly had a wonderful start to her London Olympics.

On my end? It’s not bad, especially when you come to another realization why adulthood is so much better than being a kid or a teenager.

Reason # 47 why its better to be an adult: Not having to argue with mom about whether you can buy the Snack Pack Pudding Cups, and then deciding, yes you will have one for breakfast.

Why for breakfast? Because I can!

See? Life rocks sometimes. Happy Monday!

Let out a shout and enjoy what the day throws at you, like Calvin here!
Leave a Reply

