I Have a Healer, and His Name is Josh Groban

Posted on Updated on

It’s still early in the day, and already I’m yelling a myself to focus. Why, you ask? I’ve been staring at my split ends for the last 10 minutes. If that doesn’t scream I need to focus, I don’t know what does.

So ready to just hack everything off…split ends and all!

It doesn’t help that I woke up this morning with a twist of anxiety ripping through my stomach like it’s never going to end. It feels like a bad shot of caffeine thrown into my coffee this morning. Instead of a single, it’s a double and I’m already feeling the consequences.

I didn’t even have coffee this morning…you know it’s bad when…

Honestly? I feel like I need to burst out of my own skin. Is this what a snake feels like when he’s molting? Just ready to shed his own skin and burst out and become something new? Not that I want to compare myself to a snake. Ugh, I hate snake. Thinking about them has made my blood pressure rise another 12 degrees.

“I pray that I may be all that [my mother] would have been had she lived in an age when women could aspire and achieve and daughters were cherished as much as sons.”

It amazes me how these quotes inspire me to think about my own life. The words of Ruth Bader Ginsburg, a Supreme Court Justice, make me wonder why certain feelings women have are considered taboo when they riddle us with stress like I am feeling now.

You go, girl. Oppression sucks.

If a guy felt like this, his brotherhood would take him out, grab him a beer or two (or simply get him drunk) and they would talk about what he’s feeling, why he’s feeling that way, and give him advice. Women?First, we sit and talk about how stupid we are for feeling this way, then we cry, then we gorge ourselves on ice cream or chocolate or Taco Bell, and then we start to think rationally.

Two men a girl can always rely on to be there through the awful times, yell at them for her hips in the morning, and then be back on good terms in less than 24 hours.

Okay, so not all women are like this, but I know a good share are and I relate to them for that reason.

Seriously, I’m riddled with anxiety right now, and it’s quite frankly pissing me off. I know the source of anxiety, and it’s so, so stupid. Why can’t things just work out the way they’re supposed to? On the one hand, I could be overreacting. I’ve been known to do that. Hello, I’m a theater major! Sometimes we tend to be a bit melodramatic, myself wholly included.

The one thing keeping me calm and stopping me from grabbing my phone and chucking it at the nearest wall? Josh Groban. He has this magical power with his buttery voice to put me at ease simply.

Hello. May I call you Adorable?

My favorite melt-down avoidance story concerning Josh Groban will always come down to a car trip I took with my boyfriend at the time. Six hours one way in a car in nerve-wracking enough. Taking the 6-hour trip back in less than 24 hours from the original 6-hour arrival trip, and you’re barking up the wrong tree. Every little thing about each other got on our nerves, and it was just that…annoying.

Stupid thing is, we weren’t even fighting over directions or getting lost.

So, what else is there to do, but pick fights with each other. Finally, I’m to the end of my nerves and I just start crying, and telling him that if he wants to get out, he can. I’m not dealing with him anymore because of yadda-yadda-ya reasons (Like I already said, I’m a bit dramatic sometimes.) But, after about 20 minutes of silence and whatever was playing on the radio at that time, he asked if he could change the music. Clearly, I was still fuming. I said,”Sure,” and he reached for my cd binder and paged through it for a few minutes. Without telling me, he selected a CD and put it into the player.

No more than two moments later, Josh Groban’s sweet voice filled the cockpit of my car and he was all I could hear for the first 6 songs.

It works as good as a room full of aromatherapy candles.

By song 7, I was not only feeling much calmer, but was also singing along to the words as if nothing had happened. My then-boyfriend decided to try talking to me at that point, and all was well.

The point of the story…Josh Groban is a miracle worker. I can spend hours youtubing his music, his video blog, his website, and any TV show he has appeared on in the last 5 years. I love this man. Not just because he’s rich, famous and massively talented, but he presents himself like a genuine person. Without meeting him, I know he’s an absolute sweetheart and just a goofy guy.

It’sa Josh-a Groban-a!

You need to have a great sense of humor and self-confidence if you’re brave enough to appear on the Ellen DeGeneres show wearing a full Avatar Na’vi costume (I have never laughed so hard in my life, by the way.)

So many wonderful things about this happenstance.

He’s also an incredibly charitable man, and that’s something I greatly respect. He shops for toys for tots so kids can have a happy Christmas. He wants kids to embrace the arts and everything about them, so he teams up with different arts-based groups around the United States (and beyond, I’m sure) so the arts will not be lost in children’s lives anytime soon.

Look at him and the youngsters! Again, just adorable.

Plus, he’s a Twitter-tweeter!  Thanks to following him on Twitter, I have discovered he has quite the quirky sense of humor, too, and it just makes me want to hug him.

Scruffy and adorable. Yes, please. Over and over again.

Literally.

I want to find a life-size cardboard cut-out of him so I can hug him every morning when I get up, and every night before I go to bed. He’ll also have a little button on the back of his hand or something, so when I press it, he speaks whatever I want him to say in the real Josh Groban voice. OOo, or he’ll sing to me.

Can you blame a guy for trying to ask a Jedi out on a date? Honey, I am open to any possibilities.

Do I sound like a nut job or what? If the actual Josh Groban ever reads this, he’s going to immediately write me off. GAH!

But seriously, who doesn’t want that man to sing a song meant just for them?

As I’m struggling with a few things this morning, I do have one thing that’s an attempt at lifting my spirits, and little by little, it does seem to be working. Thank you, Josh Groban, for your beautiful music that speaks directly to my soul.

Thank you, also, for tweets like this accompanied by these sorts of pictures: “Happy Independence Day. May we all remember how and why we celebrate the fateful events that shaped our nation.”

In case Josh Groban isn’t your cup of tea, here are a few other words of inspiration I hope  help you make it through the week. Tomorrow is Friday! Yahoooooooo! For me, that means Bridal Shower and Bachelorette Party time. For others, it’s the weekend and it means freedom! (What a screwed up week to being with, right?)

– You’re better than you think!

See the lion inside your soul.

– Hope sets success in motion.

The White Wizard approaches.

– Times don’t stay tough. Easier days are ahead.

You’re never too old, you’re never beaten. You gotta believe something better is ahead. It’s waiting for you. Put in the work, the time, and the sweat, and victory shall be yours.

– You’re more important than your to-do list.

Toss it out. I mean it!

– Things can turn out even better than you’ve dreamed.

This scene took my breath away. So much better than I could have hoped.

– You shine brighter than the sun, moon and stars.

Step forth, and claim your title.

– Believe in the power of today!

Happy Independence Day….Welcome to Earth!

Happy almost weekend! If you have never listened to the man, please YouTube Josh Groban and just listen to one of his songs. His voice is simply beautiful. I hate it when people compare him to Michael Buble. I really do. They are both great singers, but they have their own styles and sass.

If I had to compare Groban to Buble, it would go something like this. Groban = the real deal with butter. Buble = it ‘almost tastes like butter’ spray

Josh Groban always comes out the winner in my mind.

Even with the scarf 🙂

My personal, all-time favorite of his? In Her Eyes, and I’m posting the song below. See? I just saved you a trip to YouTube 🙂 You’re welcome!

AND Happy 4th of July!

2 thoughts on “I Have a Healer, and His Name is Josh Groban

    […] Oh, Josh Groban, the Great Anxiety Healer « The Modern Jedi […]

    Carmella Boege said:
    November 5, 2012 at 7:54 am

    Josh groban is one of the best singers these days because of his voice. ..

    Visit our very own web blog as well
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

