Day: June 18, 2012

Sharp Cooking

Posted on

I am *thisclose* to finally solving this no-laptop problem of mine.

I just thought this was funny.

Believe it or not, I’ve been scoping out the deals and comparing prices and taking a look whenever I happen to be in a store that happens to sell laptops. I almost feel like a real adult. You know, weighing all my options. Getting all the information. Making an informed decision based on the information I find.

You’d think I was about to make the deciding vote on who will be the next American President. If only I had that power…

Neither of the forerunners shall be President…instead, I call upon an absolute nobody who will rule the day with a new democracy.

But, the decision has come down to this: Either buy a smaller laptop I can get by with in the meantime; a laptop which can handle email, playing music, blogging, the occasional photo download, a semi large photo upload, and my Amazon.com shopping addiction. Among other things, of course, but that’s the basic lowdown…OR…Do I suck it up and pay a large amount of money towards a laptop that can handle all of the above, plus movie editing, photo editing, poster/magazine cover designing, and all the areas of design I wish to pursue independently until a job offer comes along and they give me a company laptop.

Do I dream big or what?

Defeat evil, you shall.

I’m leaning in the direction of getting the smaller netbook sized laptops I’ve been eyeing up. Their price is going to be nicer on my wallet in the long run. However, the big investment laptop is going to happen within the next year. I just have to get through this wedding chaos first, which, let’s be honest, is sucking up a large part of the income from my wallet these days…so probably a good choice on my part.

If only my wallet could look this stuffed all the time with those crispy $100 bills…

I have been wrong in the past, especially when it comes to technology.

Last night, I finally watched the movie “Julie and Julia” in its full extent. Why I have never watched this movie prior to last night is beyond me. I found it completely charming. Absolutely and utterly charming. Meryl Streep, there’s a reason your take on Julia Child earned you your 9th or 10th or whatever number nomination for Best Actress.

Simply put, Meryl, you were astounding! How I wish I could take acting lessons with you one-on-one to pick every aspect of your brain when it comes to developing your characters. She’s a true master of the Force, that one.

So much zest and self confidence…It just oozes out of her. In Paris of all places, too!

‘Julie and Julia’ was actually the inspiration for my own endeavors in cooking. I was about to start my third year at the Academy, and I wanted to take a passion of mine to the next level. I wanted to become a better cook. I’ve always enjoyed cooking, but never really took the time to really enjoy the whole process, you know?

So, stumbling upon a cookbook by accident called “College Kids Can Cook,” I took on this endeavor the same as Julie Powell: I will cook my way through the book. No recipe goes untouched, whether there is an ingredient already in the recipe I despise. I would cook everything, try everything, and then move on to the next.

Ironically, I didn’t run across a single recipe in this entire book that involved mushrooms. Amazing, now that I think about it. Mushrooms and I simply do not coincide with each other. It’s a texture thing. Bleh!

For the most part, my kitchen is a no-mushroom zone.

Regardless of never watching the movie in its fullest extent, I was inspired to cook. Now, I am about to take on my next cookbook adventure, and this time with Rachel Ray. ‘Cooking ‘Round the Clock: Rachel Ray 30-Minute Meals.” I’ll be starting with breakfast, and working my way through every important meal of the day.

Who doesn’t love scrambled eggs for lunch or dinner?

My newest kitchen adventure.

Now, I just need to get myself to the grocery store, buy the ingredients, and I am off! I’ve recently had another inspiration for an entirely different blog. I’m still developing the concept of the whole thing, and, as always, waiting for things to simmer down against my wallet before fully pursuing this next endeavor.

Trust me, it’s going to be a good one. Especially for us women. Two words: Fantastic Drinks. More to come later on this topic.

Along with mastering cooking, I shall become a bona fide bartender!

Overall, my weekend can be summed up in two words: Beer Tents. It was Grandma’s Marathon weekend, and the race is something I’ve never taken in before despite living in this city for the last 5 years. I was right there when the winner of the 26 mile race crossed the finish line, and it was downright thrilling. That guy looked as if he only started running 5 minutes prior to that finish line, and not 2 hours and 15 minutes ago.

Ridiculous. Superhuman strength in those legs if you ask me. Just ridiculous.

The beer tents had their fair share of excitement. Ran into the guy who had the nerve to call and cancel our date at the last possible minute of the night, said we’d talk in a few days, and has never called since. I point-blank told him to his face that if all he wanted was to not see each other anymore, he could man-up and tell me to my face. I’m a big girl. I’m not going to dive into the nearest corner and cry my eyes out for days. We were doing this thing called ‘dating.’ Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

This wasn’t my course of action at all. I have a life to live and it’s away from my phone most of the time.

Here’s another word for him: Honesty. If he didn’t want to see me anymore, all he had to do was say so. I’d have taken that answer, told him it was good while it lasted, and moved on with my life.

Instead, he says we’ll talk soon, but in reality never calls again. What’s worse? He had the nerve to tell me to my face that same line. I could see it in his eyes. He knew he pulled a dick move, and I confronted him about it. But he kept on trying to be the smooth, suave guy.

Didn’t expect a confrontation, did you, Lawyer Boy?

If he calls, he calls. I’ll chat him up, but he’s already marked himself as a massive A-Hole in my book.

“My husband knows so much about rearing children that I’ve suggested he has the next one and I’ll sit back and give advice.”

Sharp words from a sharp royal, Diana, the late Princess of Wales.

Your boys grew up to be beautiful and wonderful to your country. You did them well, Diana.

Since graduating from the Academy, if I’ve tried to be anything with guys I encounter, it’s honest. I’m going to call them out on their shit. Give me a line, I’m going to call them on it. Try to be smooth, I’m going to ask you your intentions. Don’t call me back and I run into you at a large city-wide party (with hundreds of people running around…it wasn’t on purpose we ran into each other. It was meant to happen), I’m going to question you and call you an idiot.

The real test, however, will be seen if he actually does call back: Will I take him on his word, or flat our tell him he’s a jerk followed by hanging up my phone?

…And Fire the Missiles!

I hope you’re weekend was equally as thrilling. Keep your heads high, and though a day late, I hope you told your father’s how much they mean to you along with a Happy Father’s Day.

Until next time…Bon Appetit!

As Julia would say…
