Day: June 14, 2012

Me? A Future Business Woman?

Posted on

I want a new one. I need a new one. And all of it RIGHT NOW!

Seriously, not having my own personal laptop again just plainly sucks.

In case you didn’t hear me the first time…IT. SUCKS.

Especially in the sense that I have a huge inspiration for a blog post…but then something at work pops up when normally the time finds me searching for things to stave off boredom, or the laptop I thought I could use is no longer in my home (what is it with engaged couples that makes them want to share absolutely everything?), or I’m all set to type and then I lose all sorts of motivation.

Classic example? I sat down all ready to type this post out in less than an hour (because I’ve found when I put myself on a time limit I type better…Err, write better. Whatever that means. Haha!) So, here I am sitting down ready to rock out this posting, and I put Gossip Girl on. How did I ever think I was going to get anything done?

The same scandals over and over again. Why do I keep watching? I’m addicted.

Plus, one interview done for the day and another this afternoon. Man, I wish I could say they were for potential Big Girl jobs. Well, I shouldn’t say that. It’s not entirely true. One of them has the potential to become a very Big Girl Job, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that this one turns out. It would be a pretty sweet gig. Not ideal in terms of hours, and I’d have to make some major decisions in terms of what I do with my other places of employment, but I can’t think about those possibilities right now.

I’m the lady in charge with the headset. Don’t cross me.

Right now, I need to think about getting the position. It’d be with a well-known theater company here in this city, and it would be a great start to my ideal career path. So, giants of the Universe and masters of the Force, if you can work your magic for me, I’d be forever in your debt! I probably shouldn’t even be mentioning this to anyone. I seem to jinx myself that way, like a revealed birthday wish after the candles have already blown out. Or wishing on a star out loud.

Releasing a touch of my inner Monroe.

There are certain things you just don’t do. But, here I am. Breaking that rule. I’ve been breaking a lot of rules lately. Seems to be my style. Or maybe my inner Bad Girl coming out? Only time will tell.

Running around the city this morning hit home the idea that you have to be proactive in your search and in the spread of a person’s name. Hopefully the efforts pay off. See, this is the thing about job hunting. There’s only so much you can do up to a certain point. You hit that bright red marker, and then it’s out of your hands. I’ve literally placed my fate in someone elses hands. Again, I’m crossing my fingers that I dazzled them with my charm and wit.

Another connection I need to play up more? The fact that I was raised and spent my entire childhood on a farm. That I spent 20 years of my life working like most kids never work in their life.

Farm kids know the meaning of hard work, dedication, and working for the best possible outcome. If a farmer doesn’t put out excellent quality in their product, it’s not going to sell. If the product doesn’t sell, then there’s no profit to be made. If no profit is to be made, then we can’t make a living. It’s one cycle that makes sense and is completely logical when you really sit down to think about it.

Farm Girl’s never say it’s over. Farm Girls say bring it on with all you’ve got, including a cherry on top.

I’ve never considered myself a business woman, but at the same time, I’ve had a yearning to understand how that side of business works. If I’m ever going to work for myself, or open a small-time bookstore like I want to when I retire in 55 years (keeping my fingers crossed for that prospect, too), I need to understand accounting, bookkeeping, profits and deductions, and a whole lot of other terms I’m sure I’ve never heard of because I’m no business major.

And Q is equal to the number of apples in the overflowing, non-edible basket…

I know I’m still young. I can still go back to school, I can still take classes to learn tricks of the trade, I can still learn new tricks. Most likely, I will end up in a bigger set of cities to go through a 9-month paralegal program. I’ve recently discovered my love for research. I love learning new things, and reading about subjects that I’ve never encountered before!

Yes, let me stand in a dusty library reading ancient books that no one has ever touched prior to being put on the shelf. I’d rather enjoy inhaling all its dust.

Nerdy, isn’t it?

I know it’s Thursday afternoon, and these are usually meant for Wednesday because that is the day marking the halfway point of the week, but it’s not quite the weekend yet, so in case your weather is as rainy, dreary, and foggy as they are here, keep these words in mind to keep your spirits high.

– Your sparkle like no one else.

Seriously…I can’t take my eyes off her. Can you?

– Let go of a worry.It’s only weighing you down.

Let it all burn. The past, I mean.

– The world is a better place because of you.

Diana, do you know the effect you had on the world?

– Life brings unexpected joys all the time.

The facial reactions are good enough to pounce a surprise.

– You make people smile.

Kirsten Wiig, why must you leave SNL?! I am so going to miss your Target Lady.

– Relax! Your to-do list can wait.

Let the To-Do list wait…there is so much more out there to be enjoyed than vacuuming or shopping for avocados.

– Never underestimate the power of a brand new day.

Every new day always starts with a steaming cup of coffee.

Seeing other people reach their successes has only pushed me harder to start making the life for myself that I want. It may sound lame, but I really want a job where I feel important, where I am key factor is what operation is happening. Like Sam Witwicky says in Transformers 3, “I want a job where I matter. I just want to matter again.”

Don’t we all?

“Fame lost its appeal for me when I went into a public restroom and an autograph seeker handed me a pen and paper under the stall door.”

I only wish I garnered that sort of attention on a daily basis, Marlo Thomas. Yes, she is THAT girl.

Look at her all pretty in pinks and purples.

Keeping my fingers crossed for another posting yet tonight, but we shall see. I have myself a date šŸ™‚

Rub a dub dub. I have a date! You heard it here first. Whether it goes good or bad, you’ll hear about it here first.