Technology Wins Again

Posted on

It’s barely after 10 in the morning, and I’m already downing a Rock Star. Either I am addicted, or I have a serious case of the sleepies. A single day of a pure 18-hour shift can really wreak havoc on your sleep schedule, or something.

Yup, I’m still drinking it at this very minute.

Why do I even keep drinking it? It makes me cringe every time I take a sip and feel the fizz slide down my throat. If I’m being honest, the stuff is actually really icky. Yet, here I am, still drinking it. So who freaking knows?

I must apologize upfront. I’m going to try with all my might to keep posting daily. Not just for my followers and readers, but for my personal sanity as well. I had to accept the reality that I’m a writer when my fingers literally start itching for a pen or a key pad every single day. Literally. I have to shake my fingers out and wiggle them around to keep them straight.

I feel the need…to write!

Anyways, the apology is coming from me to you because I no longer have a laptop at my disposal. While I was away and at home this past weekend, my laptop decided it was time for it to pass on to Tech Heaven. I returned to sit down and catch up on email, the social networks, and get some blogging in. But, alas, my laptop did not want to start. Her pretty blue lights lit up for maybe three seconds before giving a half-hearted ‘boooooop’ and shutting right back down.

Something in my size, color, and style, of course.

Insert small freak-out here. Believe it or not, my self-assigned mission on the side of technology involved me walking into a Best Buy or Office Max with the sole purpose of buying a hard drive to back up all my files. My laptop had been running pretty slow for the last couple of weeks, and I knew it would be a matter of time before she took the plunge.

Oh, how intuition serves me and I still refuse to listen.

Jedi Lesson #1: The Force is your ally! Which means I have to listen!!

So, a small freak out ensued when it hit me that my plan wasn’t going to work out as blissfully simple as I anticipated. My laptop is dead, and everything I have ever done…photos, graphic design, research for future novel ideas, computer backdrops, websites I had poured my attention into, papers I had written, downloaded music, resumes…ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING…still exists on my now forever sleeping laptop.

I can only cross my fingers and hope that all will be saved when I take her into the technical doctors office.

Except it didn’t crash…it died.

So…I’m without a laptop and will be $700 poorer within the next month. In order to do the things I do and pursue the type of career I think I want, a laptop is necessary. Not to say I haven’t been contemplating the idea of a new laptop recently anyways. I have been, but I still wanted to save my current laptop for simple things, like web surfing, photo hunting, and story writing. The new laptop would be reserved for the hard work…photo and video editing, and the occasional web searching hunt.

What may hurt me the most about not having a laptop? Shopping on Amazon. I am an addict. It’s what I do to destress from a long, hard day. I shop on Amazon.com. Not for clothes or jewelry. But for all things Star Wars. Books (LOTS of books). Music I want to buy. Random ass things I find cool. Movie memorabilia.

I am such a strange nut.

I need online shoppers anonymous.

I could care less about Facebook, actually. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m reading about all the awesome things other people and my friends are doing, and I just hate myself because I feel like I have nothing going on. I don’t feed my ego that way about bragging about everything little thing in my life.

That’s what this blog is for 😉

But seriously, take this morning, for example. Three different people are proclaiming that they got the job they recently interviewed for, and they’re not crappy part-time retail jobs. It’s a job with a touring theater company, one is working on a yacht as a host and entertainer, one booked a national commercial, and the other is now a teacher.

Ironically, my love life has nothing to do with my feelings of worthlessness. Not yet, anyways.

Um…can I just get an interview to a job I apply for? Please?

Not to say I’m not getting interviews. I had one yesterday and I have another booked already for next week. But, it’s just trying on my self-esteem to see everyone else so successful and I just feel…stuck.

“Remember when we all wanted to look like Elizabeth Taylor? Well, now I do.”

The substantive stage-stalker, Carrie Snow, kind of gets what I’m saying here. At least I think she does. But, she could also be talking about how now she literally looks like Elizabeth Taylor. Open to interpretation, as everything usually is these days.

She does kind of look like the infamous Elizabeth Taylor.

Right now, I just want to look like a successful young woman. It helps that my interviewer told me I’ll be successful in whatever I seriously pursue because I’m a pretty attractive young woman. (Don’t worry, he’s married and from how he was talking about his wife, he’s still madly in love with her 16 years later.) Maybe not the most appropriate thing for an interviewer to say to me, but it’s for prospects inside a theater…anything flies when it comes to theater.

HA!

If you’re not uncomfortable, it’s not making you work outside your safety bubble. One of my favorite acting lessons of all time.

But I should attempt to get these Bridal and Bachelorette party invitations signed, sealed and stamped! They need to go out today or tomorrow before people get too edgy about not knowing about what’s going on. I don’t want to be THAT maid of honor. But, I’m having a real ball planning them 🙂

You’re not reeeally invited..it’s just a picture…to give you the idea…Just know you’re not invited. A harsh reality, but unless you receive an invite in the 3 days…you’re not invited. I want to make that perfectly clear.

Fabulous Friday will be coming at you later this evening!

Until then, find some tunes and groove out to the music. It’s Friday, y’all!

Leave a Reply

