Au Pair by Day, Parisian by Night

Posted on

Adventure. Excitement. (Danger.)… A Jedi craves not these things.

I can’t help feeling this craving. Help me!

But, Master Yoda, what happens when we do? What happens when we do crave that next big something with every particle in our body? What happens when we know we’re destined to do something so much more than sit behind a desk and answer phone calls all day, or point people in the right direction of the shoe department? What happens when the things once labeled “awful” and “bad” are oh so appealing and standing before me every time I turn a corner?

What do I do? I beg of you, give me an answer. Anyone? ANYONE?

Buehler? Buehler? BUEHLER!

I’m at a crossroads already in my post-graduate life. Where is this next big thing, I ask you? Everyone is telling me to chill out, things will happen when they are meant to happen. This is the thing…I have no patience. Never had, and no amount og Jedi training is probably going to produce me with any sort of livable amount. Patience sees me and dodges around the nearest corner. Patience and I are not very good friends.

I think I can make it through the summer. I really do. I can live this certain life I’m currently leading for the next couple of months. But beyond that? I’m going to feel like a college burn-out if I don’t do something more with my life. When was the last time I was excited about something, and when I say excited, I mean jump-out-of-my-skin jubilant? Probably when I performed in the Bare Bones Dance Concert last fall. It was a performance, granted, and if anyone really knows me, I live to perform. Be it in regular every day life or on an actual stage, something just happens when that spotlight hits my face. My inner soul just erupts.

Let me be your star!

If you haven’t seen it happen or have experienced this yourself, you’ll have no clue what I’m talking about. Seriously. Don’t fret about it, though. Some of us are born to be performers. Others, not so much.

“Never point at anything beige and call it cool.”

She was in an episode of Friends. She hit on Phoebe at a wedding…I just don’t remember which one. HA! Who knew?

The colorful commentator, Lea DeLaria, is always one to point out something incredibly honest, but at the same time, thought-provoking. Something I try to do with my writings here. Notice I said try. Whether I’m successful, well…that’s an entirely new subject and for tonight, please keep your comments in your head. Contrary to popular belief, I do have a softer side that often takes a beating. I just refuse to show it more times than not. Vulnerability. It’s key to being a good actor, but at the same time, incredibly hard to let the walls down and let yourself be open to each and every pinprick meant to come your way.

Lost in my beliefs that I will never amount to anything, I started perusing things on the good ol’ internet and started searching for sites that take on recently graduated college students. I need to go and DO, not continue to WISH to do. So, I started looking for jobs overseas. I found it slightly funny…when I started looking for jobs overseas, it also gave me sites in the United States. Granted, they were no where nearby where I currently live, but still. The advantage there? It’s an English-speaking country, so I no doubt would know the language very well.

The one that caught my eye the most? Being an Au Pair in France. I really like the sound of that. “So, what will you be doing now that you’re out of college?” “Oh, nothing too huge. Just moving to France to be an Au Pair.”

This could be me next year…

SERIOUSLY! How cool would that be? I think it would be pretty awesome. While I know it’s basically babysitting a family’s children (not exactly what I had ever thought I’d want to do with my future), but the basic requirement? Babysitting! Which I did all through my teenage years, and I have a fair number of nieces and nephews whom I watch all the time on an individual basis. I can take care of kids, and usually, they seem to have a pretty great time when I’m taking care of them. So, technically, I am qualified to do this. I’m not fluent in French, but I did take a semester of it, so I can hold a basic conversation and will learn from there.

No better way to learn a language than to immerse yourself in the culture. That’s what they all say. “They” being the extreme experts of every topic in the world.

In a nutshell, I just want to go, go, go. I don’t care to where or why. I don’t even care if its exotic. I just need to get out of this place I call home for more than a couple of days. I need to see things, and I need to scare myself. I need to screw up royally, dig myself out of a hole, have a hot steamy affair with a totally foreign stranger. Just…everything wildest dreams are made of. No regrets, no going back. No prison, either.

I don’t want someone pointing at me and calling my beige. I want to be littered with color. Basically, I want to be a Pollack painting. Spatters, swirls, viscirile…just everything raw and out there for the world to see. Nothing to hide, nothing to prove. Just living.

It looks like something a child could make, but it’s so much more than that.

Since we’re on the topic of ‘just living’ and getting by with what we can, remember a few posts ago I said I was going to periodically share with you useful things you can use every day objects for? That trend continues now. Most everybody has it in their cupboards. Rice! Be it white, brown, or organic, uncooked rice has a lot of things it can be used for other than being the fluffy bed for the hefty helping of stir fry vegetables and chicken. Oh, I think I just started to drool a little bit…

So yummy!

Here are ten uses for uncooked rice:

1.) Add volume to limp hair!

Combine 1/4 cup of uncooked rice and 1 cup of warm water in a spray bottle and let it sit overnight. In the morning, spritz onto damp hair and style as usual. The rice’s starch will cling to each hair shaft, giving your mane full bodiness!

2.) Squeeze away that stress.

Inflate a balloon until it’s about half full, then insert a funnel into the neck (make sure to squeeze it so no air comes out!). Pour uncooked rice into the balloon until it’s the size of a tennis ball, then tie off securely. Squeeze it as often as stress visits!

3.) Soothe tight, sore muscles

When achy muscles hit and you don’t have a heating pad, fill a clean crew sock three-quarters of the way with rice and tie off at the top to secure, then microwave on medium power for 1 minute and apply it to sore spots. The grains will retain heat for about 10 minutes!

4.) Entertain a kitty-cat.

Fill an empty childproof plastic vitamin or prescription bottle one-third of the way with rice and twist shut, then give it to your kitty. The rattling noise mixed with the bottle’s ability to roll will keep your little puffball of joy entertained for hours, and you as well!

5.) Clean a bud vase

Pour 1-Tbs og uncooked rice, a drop of dish detergent and some warm water into the vase. Cover the top with your hand and shake. The abrasive rice will remove stuck -on grime, leaving the vase simply sparkling.

6.) Brew the perfect cup of coffee (If you’re like me, this is an essential tip. Nothing gets me going in the morning like that cup of coffee.)

Coffee-bean residue in your grinder can throw off your flavor groove in the morning. The fix? Run 1 cup of rice through the appliance for 30 seconds once a month. The abrasive pellets will scour away buildup, plus sharpen the blades.

7.) Draft-proof doors and windows

Cut the sleeve off an old sweatshirt or sweater, sew one end shut and fill the sleeve with uncooked rice. Then sew the other end shut and place in front of the offending window or door. The grains will prevent cold air from seeping in, keeping your bedroom cozy and your heating bill under control! (I know how pesky those bills can be when money is already tight!)

8.) Blind bake a pie crust

Sometimes when you’re baking, the pie recipe calls for blind baking the crust but you don’t have pie weights. Try using this! Simply line the crust with foil or wax paper, fill with rice and bake as directed. The weight of the rice will prevent the dough from bubbling up, ensuring a crisp, golden-brown bottom. When finished, store the rice in an oven bag so you can reuse it the next time you’re baking a delicious fruity pie!

9.) Protect your gardening tools from rusting

Excess moisture in the springtime is just downright annoying, and its causes the metal of your tools to rust — even when safely tucked away. Sprinkle a handful of uncooked rice in the bottom of your toolbox or storage container. The grains will absorb any dampness in the air and prevent rust from forming on your tools, meaning you’ll have to replace them less often.

10.) Save a soaked cell phone (We’ve all been there. Whether you dropped it in the toilet or in a rain puddle getting out of your car, this is a useful tip to keep tucked away in your brain.)

Oops, I did it again! You accidentally dropped your phone in the sink, and now it won’t turn on. Remove the battery and SIM card, dry them off with a soft cloth and set aside. Then cover the phone’s SIM card slot with a small piece of tape and submerge the device in a bowl of uncooked rice for 24 hours. The absorbent grains will draw out any trapped moisture to get your phone functioning properly again. It’s a real lifesaver. Truest me!

That’s all for tonight, cheries. Have a fabulous night, and we’ll hash out more of the worlds issues tomorrow.

Bonne Nuit!

Leave a Reply

