Love Your Momma

Posted on

What did you do with your first day as a member of the real world?

Sounds about right. But, really, hire me!

I know what I did. A full day at the beach, and my skin is reaping the benefits. In about three days, I will be a mean, lean and tan machine. Hard to believe that I’ll have my tan in place before May is half over. What can I say? This city never knows what’s going on with its weather.

Perfect example is this evening. This afternoon saw temperatures reach 81 degrees. Absolutely beautiful weather to be sitting on a beach. This evening when a friend and I went for a walk? It was 54 degrees by the lake. How is it possible for one city to witness a 30 degree difference in a matter of six hours? I’ve graduated. I don’t do math anymore. (What a terrible thing to say, right?)

Twas a toasty one. I enjoyed every moment of it.

It was a lovely evening to take a walk, even if we did get rained on a little bit. Of course, what else do two girls talk about when walking in the late evening? We talk about relationships, new and old.

“As a rule the person found out in a betrayal of love holds, all the same, the superior position of the two. It is the betrayed one who is humiliated.”

Humiliation is a good term for what I felt after my last serious boyfriend and I split. Embarrassment and humiliation do go hand in hand, and I’d almost want to say I was more embarrassed by being the one being broken up with. Thank you, Ada Leverson, a maven in the comedy of manners. You’ve put a word to feelings I’ve been harboring for some time.

Comedy often shines a light on the truth, especially when it comes to love.

I shouldn’t say I was completely embarrassed. Embarrassed more so in the prospect that I would just break down and cry out of nowhere and in the most inconvenient of places. Like at work. At the most random scenes in movies. Watching a commercial. Seeing something on Facebook. A friend asking a simple question. My family wanting to eat at one of “our” favorite restaurants and then having one of them order what we always ordered.

Just…all the time.

Just bawling. All the time.

When I say a Cancer is an emotional mess, I’m not lying. Especially when my heart has been ripped out of my chest and thrown on the floor to be stomped on by a herd of stampeding wildebeest.

I’ve grown from the experience however. I would be lying if I said I handled myself in the best of ways post-break up, but we’re not dwelling on those moments of weakness and absent-minded thinking. I’m sure in a few years when all of this is a dusting on my past, I’ll bring those incidents up, but on the flip side, I may have forgotten about it by then.

Unless my ex and I get back together. (Probably not, though, but I don’t hold the keys to the future.)

Anyways, what did I do with my day? I was on the beach, and what a glorious day it was. There are two shades of me: light meat or dark meat. Right now, it’s a bit reddish in color, but I promise the goods are still good. I am sporting an awesome sunglasses tan on my face, so if I look a bit of a raccoon in the next couple of days, it’s because I was enjoying the sunshine this afternoon.

Seeing so many people with dogs only makes me want a puppy of my own that much more. Just dogs everywhere. Granted, they were wet and stunk like wet dog, but I still want a dog to call my own. I want to walk in the surf with my puppy while throwing him/her a tennis ball to chase and bring back to me.

Like men under the summer sun, dogs instantly are cuter while running around on a beach.

Man…Do you hear the way I’m walking about owning a dog? I either need a new project or a boyfriend to get my back on track. Eeesh.

Yesterday was Mother’s Day. Did you hug your mother with everything you’ve got? She’s a remarkable woman, that mother of yours, and my mother is even more so. Not only is she the mother of a Jedi, but she has to put up with me. Not only put up with me, but she also has to love me through all my nonsense. That’s a pretty incredible feat.

I, of all people, know I can be a handful.

In honor of all mothers, I’m extending the Mother’s Day celebrations here. Think about it: Every day should be Mother’s Day. Without them, we wouldn’t even be here. Our mothers do a ton for us, whether we realize it or not. My mom would not stop apologizing for not buying me something as a graduation gift other than a card. I told her to stop worrying about it. She made it to my ceremony and sat through it for 3 hours to watch me walk across a stage for 2 seconds, shake 3 hands, and pose for a picture and then be on my way. That was it, and she, my dad, and my sister sat through the entire thing. All to support me.

Real life college graduate, y’all.

That;s what I call family.

But…since it was Mother’s Day…I’m posting these songs as a reminder of how cool our mothers can be.

Yes, they do get on our cases sometimes, and I know I don’t always enjoy it. Like, I can’t stand the way my mom sucks the last of her coffee drinks through the straw in the hopes of getting every last morsel. She always asks me if I’m seeing anyone, and if I am, am I being safe about it? Do they respect me? “Don’t give them the time of day if they can’t send a little courtesy and respect your way. You should be treated like a Queen.” Yes, mom, I know. (See why I have high standards for every guy I go out with?) Am I getting enough sleep? Eating right? Getting everything done and still have some sanity left? Yes, Mom, I’m doing quite okay. Just a little tired and I just have a cold. And yes, I’ll drink some soup.

Despite it all, I still love her. She’s my mother, and without further adieu, listen to these songs, and remember how much your mother does for you, in the good, happy time and in the days all you want to do is sulk in your bed, but she won’t let you.

1.) Momma Said (There’d Be Days Like This) by The Shirelles

2.) Your Momma Don’t Dance by Loggins and Messina

3.) Mother and Child Reunion by Paul Simon

4.) Take Your Mama by the Scissor Sisters

5.) Motherly Love by Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention

If you didn’t hug your mother yesterday, do it today. Do it every day. Tell her you love her.

Coolest movie mom, Maria Bello in ‘Flicka’

She’s your momma…show her you love her.

Love you Mom. Always and Forever.
Leave a Reply

