Down to the Last Ingredient: Graduation

Posted on

This is my last night as an undergrad. How about that? I’m actually graduating.

We did it Class of 2012!

It’s a funny feeling. Knowing my way of life is about to end and make a quick and rough transition. Although I probably won’t notice the difference until I’m not returning to the Academy this upcoming September. Fingers crossed I’ll have a job by then.

Such a dork, but I love her because she is pretty much me. Except she is way cuter and fashionable.

So what did I do to celebrate my last night bound to the Academy by the name of undergraduate? I whipped up my own version of a creamy taco dip, cracked open a Woodchuck hard cider, plugged in my headphones, and caught up on my New Girl episodes. How hilarious is that show? And can I just say Zooey Deschenal is seriously who I would be if I was only a button cuter much like she is? She’s famous for being dorky, funny, and sexy without trying.

Those are my main goals in life. To be seen as sexy while embracing my uttermost dork. I am graduating. They say the world if my oyster. We shall find out.

The infamous cookbook that got it all started for me.

When I was a sophomore, I came into possession of a cookbook titled “College Kids Can Cook.” My frist year in the dorms did not give my a real chance to try my hand at being a whiz in the kitchen. We didn’t have stoves to cook on. It was either go to the Dining Center or learn to be crafty with your microwaves (and not always with Kraft Mac N’ Cheese either.) So when I moved into an on-campus apartment, you can believe in my excitement about finally having a stove in the kitchen. A real live stove! Suddenly I was cooking hamburgers, steaks, potatoes, real stew for once. Nothing out of a box, and only sometimes from a can.

Plus, when you have a choice to cook something in the oven or the microwave, it always tastes crisper and just plain better when you cook it in the oven.

So I made a promise to myself. I would cook absolutely every recipe in this cookbook. I didn’t care if it was something I already knew how to make or if it contained something I thought was really disgusting. I was going to cook whatever it was according to the recipe, and try it at least once. If I liked it, obviously I would make it again. If I hated it, I would either try to fix it with my own additions and remedies, or I’d simply let someone else eat it.

I must say I’m not a huge fan of meatloaf.

It’s happened a few times. Good thing my Dad isn’t too picky and eats just about anything.

What does this little tale have to do with anything? I have one recipe left to go, and its spiced coffee. Guess what I’m doing when I get up in the morning? I’m going to whip me up a cup of spiced coffee and (hopefully) enjoy the last recipe to be made out of my book. It’s a nice little bookend to my academic years, don’t you think?

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”

Favorite words of mine from the famed food fanatic, Julia Child. I’m sure she would appreciate my cooking endeavor over the past 4 years. I sure didn’t know what to expect. Some of them were harder than others, and some I really had to add a lot of my own touches in order for it to taste great according to my taste buds.

A woman after my own heart in sharing our love of food.

Guess I’m just picky. I do like to eat. It’s amazing I keep this slim figure like i do.I enjoy food way too much.

Especially a good juicy steak.

As you can imagine, I’ve had many inspirational moments this week. You know,with everything drawing to a close and such for me. At least, in this chapter in my life. Some changes have already started to happen, a few in progress, and a few others I can only keep my fingers crossed for and hope the Force has a special eye on me when it comes to those areas of my life.

My finals week  has been amazing, and here are the reasons my Friday is a bit more Fabulous because of it:

Fabulous Snack:

Raspberries and yogurt. And right on the cusp of summer? Oh yes please!

Fabulous App:

Now I’ll have time on my hands to focus on working out. Bring it on.

Fabulous Decor Idea:

I’m a sucker for photographs. This just looks pretty and interesting. Could get lost looking into all the photos for hours.

Fabulous Attitude for the Real World:

Fabulous Beach Tip:

Have a spot with rocks and you’ll stand on them, spray your feet with a hose, and the sand will wash away under the rocks, leaving your feet bare and wet to slip back into your shoes.

Fabulous Geek Out:

Fabulous Summer Goal:

Surfing on Lake Superior? Totally possible.

Fabulous Smile:

Fabulous Bracelet:

I’m not a fan of war, but this is a great way to reuse spent bullets. Ingenious. Making beauty out of something ugly.

Fabulous Daydream:

Should have made the move on him when I had the chance. Maybe soon…

Fabulous Advice for Men:

Fabulous Relationship Advice:

Fabulous Pose:

Fabulous Information for Stupid People During Finals Week:

It doesn’t get much truer than this.

It’s a long list, to be sure, but I’ve had a lot of Fabulous Inspiration this week. To those of you graduating from your own Academies, congratulations and best of luck to you. As for me? I’m continuing to take it one day at a time, and finally devoting my time to projects I want to take on and traveling to places I’ve always wanted to see.

Possible recruitment poster?

Right now? The Jedi are needed more than ever.

I need to grab some shut-eye. I have a stage to cross tomorrow. It’s the biggest stage cross I’ll make in my lifetime. At least until I’m at the Oscars 🙂

One day, Meryl, I’ll stand where you have stood.
Leave a Reply

