Follow Your Gut. It Always Knows.

Posted on

Happy May to one and all!

Ready for the grad march again?

Can you believe that it’s the first of May already? You know what this means….I am officially 10 days away from walking across that stage while wearing my cap and gown (and both of my tassels!) to shake the hand of the Dean of both of my schools of study and accept the empty fancy envelope that should hold my diploma (but that little piece of paper won’t come actually for another couple of months.) A friend of mine brought this question up: If the University demands that I be prompt and on time with everything required on my end of the deal for graduation purposes, they should certainly be able to give me my diploma on the day I graduate, should they not? It’s only fair.

I do have to agree with him fully on that point. I’ve spent thousands of dollars on this institution. The least they can do is have a simple piece of paper ready to give me after 5 years of study.

Sing it with me! Oh, I just can't wait to be Kiiiiiiiing!

Whatever. I’m off to bigger and better things.

Life lesson #24

It’s official. I am currently in my last week of regular classes for my undergraduate career, and it’s a strange feeling. I’m up and doing my regular routine, sure, but I’m much more dedicated to it. I know it’s my last, so when my alarm goes off, I am up and running. I’m ready to hit the pavement and get everything on my To-Do list done. I was actually on time to work this morning! I’m usually 10 minutes late, but I was right on the money. Who would have thought it was possible? Well, I do. When I need to be somewhere, I’m usually early, especially if its important…say, like an interview or an audition. You will not catch me late to one of those unless I hit massive traffic or I am hit by a bus.

You know, extreme circumstances.

But nothing is too extreme when it comes to the life of Jedi. Extreme is our daily routine. It keeps things interesting, anyways.

We fight the Dark Side on a daily basis. No big deal.

I shot off a couple more job applications yesterday, and this was one job description I read and thought, “Yeah, I could really do this job. I am the fit to this glove.” How’s that for a metaphor? What can I say, I’m a writer.

My worst nightmare as a writer...

I made some more progress on my screenplay this afternoon, and its amazing to me how nit-picky I can be. Down to the stupidest little detail. Technically, with a screenplay, you do need to be really picky on how to format things, but in the end i have to wonder if its me being a perfectionist or if it really needs to be that way.

Either way, it’s going to be perfect. I won’t stand for anything less.

“I think I’m a pretty good judge of people, which is why I hate most of them.”

You have seen right through me, Roseanne Barr, the let-it-all-hang-out TV star.

Her show "Roseanne" was just as brutally honest as she is, and I loved it.

The first impression people make upon me is often the one I stick with. I have a pretty good gut instinct when it comes to reading people. Some call it intuition. Others call it the Force. I call  it a combination of both. Anyways, there is not a single person I’ve met that my first impression of them ended up changing the more I got to know them. There’s one girl in particular right now at one my jobs. First time I met her? I said hello, and she kept walking right on by. No reaction. Nothing at all. I chalked it up to being shy for her benefit. The next time I saw her? I did the same thing. I said hello and asked how she was doing. She kept right on walking.

I'll make them walk right on over you.

A few clarifications: She is neither blind or deaf. She would have seen me and she most certainly would have heard me. Anyone who knows me, or even meets me just once, knows I am a naturally loud being.  If I want to get your attention, I’m going to get your attention. It’s both a good thing and a bad thing.

Yeah....just stop while you're ahead, darling.

This girl has made her impression upon me, that’s for sure. To add on top of that, she’s acted this way towards me a handful of times. Not just these two instances. So, I’m done trying to be her friend. I’ll be her coworker, but I’m not going to be her friend. A word of advice, too, sweetheart. Stop trying so hard to be one step ahead of me or to one-up me in front of “one of the guys.” I’m not trying to impress them, and you certainly shouldn’t be either, but if that is the intentions of why out of the blue you’re suddenly more agitated and fakely- animated, you can have them guys all to yourself. I certainly don’t want to get in your way. You might cut me in my sleep.

I rather like to be left alone when I sleep.

A slight wardrobe malfunction happens to us all.

This is pretty off topic, but I certainly wore the wrong bra tonight. The front of my dress is popping open if I’m not watching what my arms are doing carefully, and the one strap won’t stay put. I can adjust it all I want, but it still manages to slide down and out from under my sleeve. It’s difficult being a girl, I tell you. I wouldn’t give it up for anything in the world, but no one said it was an easy road to being gorgeous.

I want to leave you with a bit of ingenuity. As I’m preparing to head out in the world all on my own now, I’m going to be on the look-out for ways to save money and use things around the house in a new way. I hope to share them with you as I discover and stumble across random bits of brilliance.

Brilliance, I say!

So, this week’s item of choice? Egg cartons!

1.) Start seedlings! Get a head start on planting your veggie gardens (which saves money and is health friendly!) Place potting oil in sections of a cardboard egg carton until three-quarters full, then add seeds. Put in a sunny spot and water the soil until damp. When seeds sprout, cut out each cup and plant outside — the carton will break down in the ground over time.

Little seedlings are just the cutest!

2.) Organize jewelry. If you’re anything like me, you love your accessorizing a little bit too much. With this technique, you’ll never use another earring. Give each pair its own home in the bottom half of an egg carton, then slip it inside a dresser drawer. It’s the perfect size for storing rings and bracelets, too.

Now, all your options are laid out in front of you, making the choice easier...or more difficult, depending on your style.

3.) Free packing material. Foam egg cartons are perfect for protecting fragile objects for shipping or storage. Just pull the carton apart and use as an eco-friendly alternative to packing peanuts.

Sometime I feel like if a postman sees 'Fragile' written on the box, he takes more care to be rough with it than not.

4.) Sort golf balls. Keep you golf balls contained and out of sight: Simply nestle each ball in its own compartment and then shut the lid to keep them corralled. See, I’m not a huge golf person, but you never know. My future husband may be a golf die-hard and I’ll have something to keep him happy. Plus, it’ll make it look like I care about golf, too.

They want to watch the game, too!

5.) Make ice! Don’t run out of ice at your next party. Wash foam egg cartons, then fill the bottom halves with water and stack’em in your freezer for an extra stash of ice.

If all else fails, offer everyone a Gin and Titonic. I'm not too sure how I feel about my ice cubes being in the shape of the Titanic yet.

The best holiday in the world is coming up, and do you know what that is? Star Wars Day!! It takes place on May 4th, and if you have to think too hard about that one, then you should not be calling yourself a Jedi. No, I’m kidding, but seriously, if you don’t know why May 4th is Star Wars day, then you need to look that information up. I cannot wait! Coincidentally, May 4th will be my last day of my undergraduate regularly scheduled class career.

Here's a little hint.

Such a weird thought!

But, until the next time I speak to you, my fellow Jedi. May the Force be with you.

What is that I hear? Graduation AND Star Wars Day just around the corner? What ever am I going to wear?
Leave a Reply

