What Was He Thinking?

Posted on Updated on

Here’s my pet  peeve of the evening.

This is only the start of it.

Not even just the evening, but for any time’s sake. When you invite someone out to do something…you don’t ignore that person.

Why take the time to ask ahead of time if they’d like to get together, figure out a day, figure out an event to do (like go to a movie!), text them to figure out a final date and time, pick a movie selection time, call them several times to make sure they are indeed still coming and to see if they are on the way, call to ask if they should wait outside for you or go ahead and grab seats–saving you one in the process…..

Going to the movies is a joyous occasion for me.

Why go through all that only to sit on the opposite end of the theater from where I’m sitting, and then barely say two words to me when the movie is over, but then act shocked and insulted when I say  I will not be heading out to the bar for drinks following the movie.

What is up with that?

Here’s the deal: I know this guy has liked me for a while. He has gone as far to ask me out well after the fact me and my last boyfriend broke up. He broached the subject lightly before actually asking me out. I said yeah, why not. I’ll give him the shot of at least one date. We spend time talking to try to figure out what we’d  like to do. Then, The Hunger Games comes out on the big screen and we’ve both read the books. Great opportunity here!

The whole world will be watching.

He gets the idea pretty quickly. Hey…why don’t we go see the movie together? Okay, sounds like a fantastic idea. Especially when we both really enjoyed the book.

Two days later, he’s telling me he invited more people along. Okay, cool, whatever. My attention is going to be on the screen and not on what he’s doing any ways. Then, the above description happens when the day of the “date” arrives.

What the hell is that all about?

Bad. Ass. This girl is a fighter.

See, I’m not upset about the “date” not working out. At all. I went to see a movie. And not just any movie. I went to see The Hunger Games. You know what? I am blown away by it. It stuck really close to the actual book, which I love love LOVE. I’ve loved the character Katniss Everdeen since the first paragraph of the first book. If I could relate to any fictional character, it would be her. I won’t dive into that right now, that’s a whole new topic in itself.

Anyways, I was there to watch the movie. I wanted to see what changes the adaptation made, I wanted to see what each of the Tributes brought to the table, I wanted to feel the emotional connection to certain parts and to see if I would indeed cry at the moments I initially thought I would (and yes, for the most part, I did, plus a few more), I wanted to watch the acting to see if I thought the casting was appropriate or abysmal (love love LOVE all the casting choices here!)

Lenny Kravitz as Cinna? Only the beginning of how much I loved the casting of this movie.

Trust me when I say I was there to watch the movie. I was not there to worry about flirting, or hand holding, or move making, or popcorn falling down my shirt. I was there to watch a beloved story unfold before my eyes.

Needless to say, I was not upset about the evening. I saw the movie, loved it, and now want to talk about it with everyone else who is a die-hard fan.

One of the best parts of going to be movies! Mixed flavor slushies!

No, what gets me is the guy’s nerve. What the hell is he doing here? Playing hard to get? Bringing other girls along to make me jealous? HA! I was more turned on by my slushie than anything he could have done. Plus, it doesn’t get you bonus points if I hear you’ve been messing around with one of the chicks in attendance recently. As in yesterday, recently.

Yeah….see why I wasn’t upset about this “date”?

I went and did what I wanted to do. What’s puzzling me and making me laugh really hard is this guys thought process. Does he think I’m, like, soooo into him now? Is this his way of teasing me?

Oh, god….I think I threw up a little in my mouth.

The best part? He’s probably telling everyone how he’s got me hooked. Puh-leeze. The ending credits rolled, I grabbed my purse, finished my slushie, and walked out the door. The only reason I stopped walking was because he called my name from behind me. It’s the polite thing to stop when someone calls your name. He asked what I thought of the movie, and I gave the general answer of “I really liked it.” I continued walking. “Oh, hey, aren’t you coming out with us now?”

This, here, is a date. We were so not on a date.

Seriously? Two and half hours later, you finally acknowledge I showed up to our “date” and you wonder why I’m walking away. Gotta love the male brain…

I told him no. I have to be up early and I still had homework to do at that point. All of which is truth. I’m going to pay for this late night tomorrow morning and all day long since Monday’s are the longest day of the week for me. Ever. At least my homework is done. Half-assedly.

Gonna need more than a cup of joe this morning.

Ah well, I’ll fix it in the morning.

“A woman scorned is a woman who quickly learns her way around a courtroom.”

Ah, words to the deaf male ears, Colette Mann, a drama devotee.

Has she been scorned in the past? Perhaps.

I have no reason to take anyone to court….yet. But when the day comes, oh you had better hope you never crossed me in this life or any other. I’m unrelenting when I attack. It’s a good way to take the offensive.

Velma Kelley had a great courtroom presence. I'd never cross her in there.

Never let up, and never let them see you sweat. I am woman, hear me roar!…. and all of the above. You know the drill.

Sweet dreams, Jedi followers. May the Force be with you as we begin a new week.

Leave a Reply

