Another Oscars Have Come and Gone…

Posted on Updated on

The 2012 Oscars have come and gone.

How I love the Oscars? Let me count the ways. Seriously, I’m already pumped for 2013’s ceremony, and there hasn’t even been any buzz about it yet. Well, that’s actually not true. I read an article already boasting Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in The Hunger Games. Now, THAT is some early buzz. The movie doesn’t come out until March 23. I guess we’ll see.

Worthy of a man named Oscar? We'll find out soon enough.

There was nothing to hate about this year’ s ceremony…other than Kate Winslet was not in attendance so I couldn’t see her latest fashion statement and love her even more.

Always a bombshell. She never disappoints on the Oscars red carpet.

Let me see…here are a few of my favorite highlights of last night’s festivities:

1.) Colin Firth with his recognition to Meryl Streep while announcing the Best Actress nominees: “Mama Mia. Meryl, we lived in Greece. We danced. I was gay. We were so happy.” Best. Quote. of the Night.

Another reason to love Englishmen.

2.) Glenn Close’s entire ensemble. She looked absolutely radiant. Just goes to show aging can be a good thing.

Simply gorgeous. Age knows no bounds.

3.) Billy Crystal’s opening montage. Who doesn’t love Crystal when he’s hosting. Remember when he did the drawing scene for the opening the year Titanic won Best Picture?

His grand entrance was on the Titanic. Can we say awesome?

4.) Seeing Kermit and Miss Piggy at the ceremony. I wish they would have performed, but it’s better there were there than not there at all.

Too bad they didn't perform...

5.) Meryl Streep finally winning after 17 nominations! And for Best Actress!!

FINALLY!

6.) Carl, the man who has been a seat filler for the Oscars for 59 years! I want to be that guy. Think of all the celebrities this guy has sat next to.

I couldn't imagine a better story to tell your grandchildren

7.)  Chris Rock’s explanation how really, we have quite an easy job. “You’re fed a line…and they give you a million dollars!” (That’s the gist of it anyways.)

They give you a million dollars! -- classic...

8.) Gwyneth Paltrow’s dress. Once she lost the cape/jacket thingy, she looked absolutely regal. So simple, but so elegant.

Definitely the best dressed of the night easily.

9.) Robert Downey, Jr. and his documentary filming “The Presenter.” I honestly don’t care if this man is a douche bag in real life. I heart him.

So. Funny. The Presenter. I'd see it.

10.) Emma Stone inviting Jonah Hill up onto the stage to dance with her to celebrate her first time presenting. And his blatant negative response…NO!

Come dance with me, Jonah!

There are a lot of other moments i loved, but we’ll be here all night and I’ll basically be reiterating the entire ceremony in print, so I’ll leave it at these Top Ten.

“I know I’ve got a degree. Why does that have to mean I have to spend my life with intellectuals? I’ve got a lifesaving certificate, but I don’t spend my evenings diving for a rubber brick with my pajamas on.” 

Wise words to a nearing-graduate from the Academy from the off-quoted wit, Victoria Wood.

I don't hang out with other actors. They annoy me most of the time.

I will be leaving the Academy with two degrees. One heavy in the writing department (maybe explains the blog?) and one in the acting department (maybe why I love the Oscars as much as I do?) I will be walking away with two degrees that don’t necessarily guarantee me a job anywhere. Now, who is stupid enough to do that? Haha, apparently I am. People always wonder what my second degree is, thinking it’s going to be something more stable. Wrong again. Neither degree is stable…although I’ve become a lot more comfortable with my body and its expressions. Sometimes, it gets me in trouble…hahaha.

In all seriousness, the first time I watched Star Wars and found myself legitimately wanting to be on that screen alongside Han and Leia, I knew I needed to be a  part of this world…not just the Star Wars universe, but the world of film. The place where all these awesome places live and breathe.  When I watch the Oscars, sometimes I feel like I’m a part of this crowd of people…this group of eclectic, funny, bizarre, unique, individualistic, risk-taking people…and I feel happy. I’m laughing at their jokes because I get them. I feel like I know them. I should be there…in that theater…celebrating with them.

It's like they're inviting me to join them. How could I say no?

I should have given you a nerd alert warning before all that bunch of nonsense came stumbling out of my mouth. But hey…what can you do? It brings us closer together as Jedi, right? (I know you’re all shaking your heads, laughing at me, or sighing at my sad, sad life…but I really don’t care.)

We shall come together...

Since I skipped out on posting last night, here are seven things you might not have known about this Jedi until now. Hope your Monday wasn’t too awful for you…I’ve barely survived mine, and its thankfully, almost over. Cheers!

1.)

The ultimate comfort food.

2.)

My favorite author and the only author to make me cry while reading with full blown tears running down my cheeks

3.)

Cooking advice I listen to, and listen to often.

4.)

Nothing beats a great pair of boots on your feet, especially when you need to be ready for battle 24/7.

5.)

Anyone know where I could buy this, and buy this now?

6.)

I heart little homemade projects. I also love drinks. The two go hand in hand.

7.)

My main man with the best butt in the room, and one day, I will earn one of these babies.

Sweet dreams, everybody. I hope they’re filled with gold. Oscar gold 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another Oscars Have Come and Gone…

    Wes B. said:
    February 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    I must say, this year was absolutely breathtaking. There were so many unique films that were nominated, and deserved to win awards. The Artist is now on my list of movies I must see. 🙂

    shampoo brands said:
    March 31, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

