A Box of Chocolates Later…

Posted on Updated on

WHOA! Holey Moley….

Doesn't seem like much, but it means the world.

My number of hits keeps going up, which only makes this girl smile a little wider. After not writing yesterday, I figured frequent visitors might get a little bored, and maybe even a little disappointed. Nope. The exact opposite happened. Just…wow!

Thank you very much for your attention and continued support!

Yesterday was by far one of the hardest in a little while. Valentine’s Day is always going to be tinged with a little black coloring. When you claim Valentine’s Day as your official going-out date, and then things end unexpectedly, it makes the holiday a little hard to swallow. Yeah..yeah..yeah. I know a handful of you are already shaking your head at me, claiming Valentine’s Day is nothing more than a Hallmark holiday not worth anyone’s time.

Ladies, if you’ve ever received a bouquet of flowers, a tin of chocolates, or a small sweet gift on the 14th, you get what I mean about feeling left out when you’re walking through the halls and down the street listening to other girls gush about their special guy, and all you have is the box of chocolates you bought yourself a week ago so you had something to look forward to at the end of the day.

Just the two of us. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Guys, if you’ve seen her face light up when you give her that special something, take her out for a surprise dinner, or just curl up on the couch with her on this not-all-that-important-but-it-really-is-imporatant day, then you know deep down inside you strive to feel a connection to someone as much as she does.

I do have to laugh that I came across these words of Joan Rivers. Of all the days, it had to be Valentine’s Day to find this gem of advice:

“Never give back the ring. Never. Swallow it first.”

I appreciate her words on a day like V-Day

Are you listening to this, Miss Kate Middleton, the Duchess of Cambridge? You swallow that beautiful ring before ever giving it back to Prince William.

No engagement ring should look that beautiful

Not that I am wishing wedding woes between you two. Absolutely not! You two are going to make it. Not just as a royal couple, but as a devoted pair of lovers who value each other’s morals and beliefs, respect each other’s differences, and genuinely like each other. And don’t forget the sexual attraction! Come on, Prince William, your wife is a hottie, and I hope you tell her every day that she is absolutely gorgeous.

All sources point to yes, Kate Middleton is a Royal Babe

All in all, not a terrible V-Day, just a lonely one. When you keep hearing others say I Love You’s and giving away flowers all night long, and you get nothing? It wears on you. I do enjoy seeing couples in love. Nothing makes me happier than seeing an older couple come into a store and at a glance you just know they are still head over heels in love with each other. Holding hands, laughing, swatting each other on their shoulders. That’s what a marriage is all about.

I did have to work a holiday party last night, which didn’t help my mood at all. YAY. Yet another reason to despise people who are in love. On top of that, I worked with my ex-boyfriend. Yahoo. On top of THAT, if we were still together, it would have been our 2-year anniversary together. Sappy and mushy and all of the above. With every hour that passed, I kept recalling a year ago and what I would have been doing, The past is, however, the past for a reason. It can’t be relived. Only remembered.

How about that for some Jedi wisdom?

As I left work, there were dozens of red roses just lying around “for decoration.” Whatever. I grabbed two of the prettiest ones I could find, and left. If I wasn’t getting flowers from some dumb schmuk, I would give them to myself. I deserve a flower just as much as every one else!

A rose for me from me. Don't you dare judge me!

The evening shaped up to be rather pleasant. Went home, crawled into my comforting pajama pants, and got an unexpected phone call from New Guy. Okay? His reason for calling so late? He wanted to say hello and talk with me before the day was over. Then, he did say he hated Valentine’s Day. Aw shucks. For a second, I thought I was going to get a sentimental moment out of him. Unfortunately, just not so. But…he did call. With no prompting from me, so that’s got to mean something, right?

Cracked open a bottle of wine the instant I was settled into my couch with the next episode of Grey’s Anatomy cued up on Netflix, and then I dived into my Darth Vader chocolates. Oh, yes. Chocolate covered caramels with the Force infused inside. My sister also made chocolate covered strawberries, which didn’t hurt the situations. If anything, I filled up on my missing calories for the day and crawled into bed feeling content.

I gave myself a little buzz. Just enough to fall into a pleasant sleep.

Love is out there for me somewhere. I believe deep down the Force will bring us together at some point in our lives, but if my life is as hectic as the last couple months have been, I really don’t have time for one. Unless he wants to see me maybe one night a week, and that’s past anyone’s normal bed time.

Or I could just hook up with New Guy’s Best Friend. Eh, why not? No commitment that way. Just a night of total and complete uninhibited nonsense. Yes, I am calling it nonsense, because that is what it would be. Can’t say the thought isn’t tempting…

For those of you who are in love, have been in love, or are searching for love…the Force will not lead you astray. When the time is right, you will meet him. Or her. Maybe you already have, but the Force had to intervene to say, “Not yet. In due time. But not right now. It’ll come at a better time, and then you’ll understand.”

Or just listen to Han. He always has grand advice!

Oh, to have the wisdom of a Jedi Master right about now.

The two masters I would trust with all my being.
2 thoughts on “A Box of Chocolates Later…

    Dex said:
    February 15, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    What kind of workplace has a party on V-Day?

      TheModernJedi responded:
      February 16, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      What work place that serves food doesn’t have a party on V-Day is the real question. 🙂

Leave a Reply

