Get Me Coffee, and No One Gets Hurt.

Posted on Updated on

Who know who I don’t understand?

Not a lick of meat on here...and I ask why?

Vegetarians.

I also don’t understand people who willing give up dairy and people who treat any caffeinated beverage as an equal level drug to cocaine.

Seriously? I don’t get these people at all.

I tried going 1 week without meat. 1 week. By the end of that week,I inhaled the steak my mom cooked on the grill for me. I just can’t do it. I’m a meat eater, a full-blooded carnivore. There’s nothing tastier than a medium-well steak for a special occasion, a hamburger o na typical summer day, a hot dog at a baseball game (although I don’t necessarily believe that hot dogs are real meat…different topic entirely), or shrimp marinated in red sauce on a vacation somewhere. Or a pork chop after a long day of work on the farm.

Just looking at it makes my mouth water

But seriously, steak and baked potatoes on the grill has got to be one of the best meals in the entire world, made complete it fresh sweet corn slathered in soft butter.

Maybe its the way I was raised, but I couldn’t last more than a day on nothing but greens. Yeah, it’s supposedly better for you. Taste trumps healthy any day. Especially when my momma is cooking.

Have you  noticed when you try to recreate one of your mother’s famous or traditional dishes, you never seem to get it quite right? It’s true what they say. I’ll never be as a good a cook as my mother.

No one cooks like Mom can.

I am getting better though. I did successfully make a shrimp stir fry, a honey mustard vinaigrette topped frisee salad, and a French beef stew (it had a fancier name, but I can’t remember it at the moment.)

“I just gave up dairy, caffeine, and sugar because I was feeling sluggish, tired, and anxious.  Now I have a lot more energy to feel angry and deprived.”

These are the words from the pseudo health nut Jennifer Siegal.

I think she understands my hungry soul

Honey, I know exactly what you’re talking about. If I don’t have my caffeine fix at some point before the clock strike noon, I’m as irritable as cat wanting its belly to be scratched. Put some coffee in me, and *poof* I am a woman reborn.

Ain't it the truth?

Although, I do have the habit of only consuming coffee in the morning. I put enough cream and sugar and whipped cream on it to fill my calorie needs for the first half of the day, and the I pig out around dinner time with whatever I’m eating.

So healthy, right? It’s amazing I like cooking.

As far as giving up dairy. Sorry, I can’t do that either. I understand some people are lactose intolerant and just physically can’t consume the stuff without making themselves sick. I was a dairy princess with a girl who was lactose intolerant, but yet she stood proudly to represent the dairy industry. Now, that is dedication.

You could also see dedication in my brother. He’s a dairy farmer and also lactose intolerant. Talk about your contradictions, but yet he’s still working towards producing the most wholesome product anyone could ask for.

Yes, there is a thing called a Dairy Princess.

Go back in your mind to the hottest summer day you can recall. Other than a giant pool or ice cooler all to yourself, nothing tastes better than a popsicle or an ice cream cone.

Cookie Dough. Hands Down. Thee best ice cream in the nation. Actually, according to the nation the favorite flavor of ice cream is vanilla.

This also makes me drool.

It’s amazing to me how people give up something like meat from their diets. Yeah, I suppose it is healthier for you. Not such heavy foods in ones stomach, things are easier to digest, blah blah blah. Sometimes, though, I crave a huge, juicy burger with all the fixings.

And if I make it in the high-paced industry I’d love to break into, caffeine isn’t going to be merely an accessory. It’s going to be required in order to make it through the day. Sometime in the next five years, I’m assuming I’ll make my move down to the cities. The cities that are much bigger than the city I currently reside in. Once I’ve established a way of living there, I really want to earn my Paralegal License.

I would look, like, so professional with that.

I actually really like doing research. Not every thing I look up is the most interesting fact in the world, but I do enjoy learning new things, especially if I can prove something wrong by looking something up.

I’m so competitive. I almost smacked a kid in the face with a tennis ball because I couldn’t stand the thought of letting him hit a ball past me.

I’m not the only one who does it, but when I need that extra kick, what do I turn to? Coffee. Any type of coffee. Black, flavored,iced, hot,minty, lite, skinny, grande. I’m a Caribou Coffee girl. Starbucks is great when there’s no other option, but Caribou is where it’s at! Even their lite drinks taste better than anything I’ve ever attempted to make that is supposedly “healthy” for you.

I don’t have anything against being healthy, but don’t tell me the way I’ve been eating since the age of 4 is wrong. Clearly,I’m doing something right. I’m slender, toned up, not anywhere near obese (now that I’m past the Freshman 15 and the sophomore 25, ha!) and I’m active. None of my clothes fit anymore.

Treat yourself every now and then.

For the first time in my life, I’m buying size smalls. What a great feeling. Somehow I lost weight without trying. Granted, I drank a lot of coffee and only coffee. No cigarettes, though. They stain your teeth, give you bad breath, and could have really bad things in store for me since I’m on birth control.

There’s a story in every cookbook, and my collection is growing more and more each day. It’s a guilty indulgence of mine to go o Amazon.com and see what new ones, new and old, I can dig up.

Not only am I addicted to Pinterest, but also Amazon. My wallet hates me whenever a new Star Wars book or movie soundtrack comes out. I can’t just buy one thing, I might as well get 2 or 3!

It’s an ugly sight.

Tomorrow I will be attempting to make caramel popcorn. It should be pretty tasty. Guess what? I’m pretty sure both sugar and dairy are involved in the recipe.

Fingers crossed it turns out. I'm making it for movie night with New Guy

Seriously, think about it. When you give up caffeine,sugar, and dairy, there is nothing you can eat. Except for water.

People of the universe…go out and eat something. Something just plain terrible for you. Then, go run it off…or dance it off…or clean your house thoroughly…just do something! Like the commercial. Just do.

My do? dancing in the kitchen, drinking a glass of wine while cooking up a storm. Oh yeah, I sing too

When there is food, eat. A great Jedi master once said that.

And I plan to follow that wisdom like no one’s business.

The only thing hungry about this girl is the name of the cook book. I eat what I want, when I want!
Leave a Reply

