Seeking Older Men Only

Posted on Updated on

Stylists not only fix your hair, but your clothes, too.

Here’s a moment of honesty for you. I never thought I was pretty all through high school. I didn’t even acknowledge that I was somewhat good-looking I was 19.5 years of age. What’s even better? I didn’t realize guys find me attractive until probably my 2nd year at the Academy. Many of you probably think I’m joking…I”m not. I still don’t find myself attractive most days. I know we all look like bears in the wee hours of the morning. Celebrities are the only ones who can roll out of bed at 3 a.m. and not look like tsunami hit their neck sometime in the middle of the night. Their secret? Personal stylists at $450.00 an hour.

Jedi are not meant to have romantic relationships. My rule only helps me in this predicament. I do not…I repeat…DO NOT date younger men. Sounds a bit crazy, considering I’m not that old. However, I’ve tried it. I don’t like it. It is not for me, and not something I’m going to put myself through time and time again. Dating is rough enough the way it is. This Jedi only takes a serious look at older men. So far, the Force has been with me.

Smug...but so sexy.

Since I started the Academy, there is one rule I established quickly and have not regretted it for one single moment. It is probably the best rule I live by…other than those that apply to the Jedi way, of course.

“I’m not embarrassed to be with a younger man, except when I drop him off at school.”Wise words from Angie Dickinson, a veteran vixen.

Yeah, you could see a 20-year-old on her arm.

It pretty much sums up my feelings on the subject in far less words.

Older Man Hottie #1

My ideal older man? Viggo Mortenson. Or Harrison Ford (with his Han Solo attitude.)

By the time they are 30, an older man has probably caught up to a younger woman’s mental maturity. Mental and emotional stability doesn’t seem like a huge deal when you’re 20 and he looks oh-so-fine in that plain white t-shirt. Your grow up, you start to realize the way you should be treated and respected as a woman, and that white t-shirt isn’t so appealing anymore. (Okay, that’s a lie…I still admire the T-shirt and the way your washboard abs look in them…but I also acknowledge the fact I won’t be able to talk about anything seriously with you beyond Call of Duty, Tebow-ing, and what makes my ass look great.)

I like a man who knows how to dress.

When I say older men have a sense of style, it’s usually because they do. 98% of men in their upper 20s and early 30s have a pretty good career going for them, and have adapted their clothing style to their working environment. Let me remind you of another dating rule I have: If the guy spends more time in front of the mirror then I do? It’s a no-go. I don’t care how good-looking you are. I’m supposed to be the mirror monster. Not him.

New Guy is an older man. The thing I like most about him, other than his good looks, his mischievous smile, and his ability to cut the crap and get straight to the point?

The way he smells. Hello, Armani!

Damn, it smells great...

Older men has also experienced their fair share of rejection. This either has turned them into total jackasses or total gentlemen. Trust me when I say I can pinpoint what category you fall into within 5 minutes of conversation. Yes, I’ve heard many smooth lines in my young life. I’ve learned a lot about the male species in my 5 years at the Academy. So far, each lesson I’ve learned has not led me astray. BUT…if they have faced their own share of honest-to-God rejection, and I mean rip-your-heart-stomp-on-it-until-its-broken-into-a-million-dozen-pieces-spit-on-it -then-make-love-on-it-with-the-tramp-next-door-you-promised-you-never-blinked-twice-at rejection, they usually know how to show true manners to a woman.

Sucks no matter what

They’re not just taking her out for sex. They actually want to treat her to dinner, TALK TO HER, and not feel her up the moment they are alone in the car or at his/her place. He may not even be brave enough to ask for a kiss at the conclusion of the first date.

If you’re lucky enough to make it beyond the first date (and dates #3 or #4…maybe even #5), I’m sure the subject of sex as come up. Of course, this is assuming you haven’t met due to a one-night stand or random bar hopping hook-up. Although, to be fair, Cosmopolitan magazine claims 34% of one-night stands do actually turn into long-term relationships. Anyways, what I’m trying to say is older men usually know what they want in bed. Let’s face it…this is not the 1800s. Having sex prior to marriage is pretty common.

Let's go back to these times

Having 20+ sexual partners isn’t so uncommon nowadays. Call me old-fashioned, but I actually do find this disturbing. It’s probably my belief in soul mates and  my overall romantic outlook at life. This might be just me….

New Guy is an older man. He’s not afraid to tell me what he likes. Not in the kitchen when we’re cooking. Not in the bathroom when we’re brushing our teeth. And most certainly not in bed. Being older also makes them more mature about condoms. They stop trying  idiotic reasons as to why the woman should accept not using condoms. <—– That is never cool.

Older men don’t experience a decrease in their sex drive. No…no…it increases. Sure makes for some long nights….Haha. Too much?

I'm not complaining.
Seriously...just gorgeous. And Bad Ass.

Considering where I am in my life, it might be a good idea for me not to be with anyone. In six months, I could be in Florida. I could be in England. I could be in Courascant or Tatooine or Endor. I’ve always wanted to visit Ryloth. Twi’leks are beautiful creatures, despite the oddity of their head tails.

The long and short of it? I’m having fun with New Guy. It has the potential to go somewhere. Right now, my life up in arms. I’ll be out of the Academy in under 6 months, I’ll be serving as Maid of Honor in 11 months, I’ll be homeless in 10 months, or I could be making a drastic move to a whole new town/state in 6 months.

If I am going to be dating anyone…it should either be Obi-Wan Kenobi….or Josh Groban….or Indiana Jones.

Even better? Dwight Schrute.

His love child will be mine.

Leave a Reply

